Viva logo

How to Make the Most of Your Summer Vacay—Even #WhileBleeding

Period cups made it even easier to enjoy the summer, stress-free.

By Jules FortmanPublished 4 years ago 6 min read

Created withINTIMINA

Top Story - August 2020
5

I thrive in the summertime. Maybe it’s because I was born in August, but I have always felt like the best version of myself in the sunshine and hot air. There’s something about the long days and late sunsets that encourages me to make the most of every day. Summer offers newfound optimism-- adventure awaits around every corner. If I were Mother Nature, I would see no reason for any other season.

Of course, there are other choices Mother Nature has made that I don’t agree with, either. I curse her once a month, wondering why Aunt Flo can’t just summer vacation elsewhere. Summertime is precious to me, and I abhor losing three weeks to her antics.

Or at least, I used to.

For over a decade my period was the most fear-inducing part of my summer. My beach bag, camping backpack, and purses were stuffed full of every period product imaginable-- pads, tampons, liners, wipes. When I had my period, I found myself more often in a bathroom stall than enjoying whatever activity I had planned for that day. I couldn’t fully immerse in swimming or hiking without wondering whether I was leaking through. Sometimes, my period actually made me dislike my favorite season. It’s a whole lot easier to maintain your period at home in the dead of winter.

So what, you’re probably wondering, was my saving grace? Menstrual cups.

I know, I know. Change is scary. I, too, was hesitant to try them. Did they really work? Were they really any less maintenance? Were they hygienic?

I already loved summer, but period cups made it even easier to enjoy the season stress-free. For me, they’re the key for how to make the most of your summer vacay-- even while bleeding.

Menstrual cups mean less fuss.

When I got my period for the first time at twelve years old, I was afraid it would be painful, or even that I would bleed to death. I quickly found out, though, that the worst part about having your period is feeling like you have your period. The process itself is natural, but there are so many uncomfortable symptoms-- many of which are caused by our own grooming habits.

I vividly remember spending my teen years detesting going to the beach when I had my period. I didn’t want to go, but I didn’t want to miss out, either. So, I would “deal with it.” When I used to wear pads, there was nothing more uncomfortable than the combination of the rough texture and misplaced sticker clinging to my sweaty thighs. Tampons never stayed quite in place, and weren’t foolproof, either. Every step I took reminded me that I was bleeding; and if I was feeling it, I was certain that other people could tell, too. It’s disappointing that having my period is what I remember most from those days I spent with my closest friends.

Period cups are made of medical-grade silicone which controls the flow internally-- not only does this mean that your period is virtually undetectable, but it also means you will feel fresh and clean. Your period no longer feels like a day-ruiner when you forget it’s even happening.

Cups decrease common period symptoms.

I was twenty-three when I decided to give menstrual cups a shot. After doing a little bit of research, I came across INTIMINA, a socially-conscious company which empowers people with periods by making the experience easier and less stressful. I loved that the company embraces open conversations about periods, and I loved that their products are highly-reviewed. One Lily Cup later, and my perspective on periods was completely changed.

My favorite surprise benefit of wearing a cup is that my period symptoms are less severe. For me, wearing it has helped reduce my cramps, meaning that I can go about my day without the constant reminder of what’s going on down there. It’s refreshing to be able to have your period without it being the centerpoint of your week.

Period symptoms aren’t affected by the time-of-year, but they certainly are more frustrating in the summertime. There’s nothing worse than long walks on the boardwalk being ruined by pad-induced chafing. Period cups prevent the irritation and vaginal dryness that we so-long-ago just accepted to be a part of having your period.

Stress itself can worsen our symptoms, such as headaches, fatigue, cramps, and bloating. Since switching to menstrual cups, my stress levels are lower, and my symptoms are minimal.

Quite frankly, there’s no reason to settle for symptoms anymore.

Menstrual cups allow for more adventure.

Whenever I used to make summer plans, I’d have to take my period into consideration. Will I have it that week? Can I schedule around it? If not, will there be enough bathrooms nearby? Where’s the closest convenience store, in case of an emergency?

They require less maintenance throughout the day, meaning that I can go on that long hike or kayaking down the river without worrying about switching a tampon in time. I can go camping and explore nature without carrying hundreds of products. The Lily Cup Compact collapses and fits in a small storage case, making it easy to travel with. I used to give up essentially a quarter of my time and opportunities simply because of my period. Now, I can have my greatest adventures while bleeding.

Even better, cups let me keep my sex life on-track. Yes, you can safely have sex with a menstrual cup inside without fear of discomfort or messes! INTIMINA’s Ziggy Cup is the perfect solution for period sex-- trust me.

So, plan that summer vacay you’ve always dreamed of, stress-free! These cups have shattered the misconception that your period limits what you can do (and what you are capable of).

Period cups are better for the environment.

Even though we should always be environmentally-conscious, it seems as though everyone is hyper-aware of their sustainability efforts in the summer. Maybe it’s because of all the time we spend outdoors, but we feel even more obligated to care for our forests, our lakes, and our beaches. Just like our bodies, we need to take care of our planet, too. They are the only homes we have.

Believe it or not, switching to menstrual cups is an environmentally-conscious decision. Menstrual cups are a single purchase of one item, versus boxes upon boxes of other period products. Using menstrual cups will reduce your carbon footprint with less plastic pollution and less menstrual waste.

I love that INTIMINA cups are made of 100% medical-grade silicone. Not only do they provide 10 hours of leak-proof protection, but they are sustainable, and last up to 5 years. Using INTIMINA products each month instead of traditional period products has been one of the easiest changes I’ve made to help the environment.

Cups are better for you, and are better for Earth! Who would have thought that we could use our periods for good?

Period cups are worth a try.

Summer is the best time to try something new. We find ourselves itching to switch things up-- our style, our hobbies, our hair. Why not switch up your period maintenance, too?

When we have long-held habits, it can be difficult to change them. However, just because we’ve always done something one way doesn’t mean that it is the best way.

Menstrual cups reduce mess, stress, and waste.They allow for an uninhibited summer of adventures and memories. Whether your ideal summer is spent on a lake, on the sand, or in the trees, your period shouldn’t get in the way of making those dreams come true.

Swim, run, hike, lay on the beach, be free - no more fuss around periods! Protect yourself from the inconvenience and unpleasant situations by switching to INTIMINA.

how to
5

About the Creator

Jules Fortman

Modern feminist making moves one pink hat at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.