Viva logo

HEEL

Awkward Elevator Challenge

By Babs IversonPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 4 min read
12
HEEL
Photo by Photos by Lanty on Unsplash

As part of James & Oneg’s Summer Writing Challenge Extravaganza, we present to you the Awkward Elevator Challenge!

The challenge is to write about a time you did something embarrassing (or make it up), and the person that saw it happen, suddenly gets in an elevator with you shortly after.

There is no time or word count limit.

And remember, make sure you tag some folks to participate and share the original challenge post linked above in your entries.

You can read Oneg's story here.

This morning, after returning home from the Appraisal Review Board hearing, can you guess what was staring me in the face? Yes, it was a Facebook notification! The notification was immediately opened. OMG! Oneg tagged me for challenge #3. Please take the time to read Oneg's relatable story.

While I have had zippers break, the problem could be quickly solved with a safety pin or by pulling out my blouse or shirt to cover up the dilemma. Saving face and embarrassment, that's all you can think of when you are caught in an awkward situation.

Remembering an awkward situation, we made a quick trip to New Mexico for Hands Across America for the Sunday event on May 25, 1986, and my menstrual cycle must have been thrown off course.

Recalling, after hearing Lee Greenwood sing God Bless the U.S.A., we were walking to our car. We spotted Kenny Rogers. Yes! Kenny Rogers was there too. Kenny was close to his motorhome which was named after his mom, Lucille. At the time, my co-worker loved Kenny Rogers. She had a big crush on the singer. I didn't! Knowing she would cherish an autograph, I asked him to sign the TV guide, but he refused.

Yep, right after his refusal to sign. Without cramps or warning, the period (menstrual) started and I wasn't prepared. The dam broke and my jeans were saturated. My only option was to squeeze into the extra pair of jeans that belonged to either my son or daughter. No elevator story here. But, wait for it!

Let's blame the fact that my ARB hearing was today. Instead of being fashionable, I wore my Keds sneakers. My new way of thinking is comfort over pretentious shoe style.

However, approximately eight years ago, the opposite was true. Back then, my motto was "Dress For Success." Since my destination was the Federal Court Building in downtown Dallas, Texas, the documents to be filed were stowed in my briefcase. I wore my beautiful black business suit. Naturally, my black suede block heels were a perfect match with the suit.

Unfortunately, the black suede block-heeled shoes were my only choice. The kitten heel shoes were introduced in the 50s. Honestly, the kitten-heel shoes are so cute. At that time, the ones in my closet were blue. The shoes wouldn't go with the suit. The wedge sandals would have given me height with a flat sole. Of course, sandals really don't go with a business suit. Besides, the shoes were beige and more for Summer. Recalling, it was a cool crisp October morning. As for stilettos, they weren't in my closet. Knowing that I would fall flat on my face, I couldn't see buying stiletto shoes. It wouldn't have been a wise choice.

Early that October morning, I drove to the train station. Confidently, I knew that I was fully prepared to file the documents. Sitting back and enjoying the train ride, the time flew by quickly. My exit stop was approaching. Exiting the train, I couldn't help but notice the blonde with the expensive black suit and four-inch stiletto shoes. Approaching the exit doors, she was behind me.

Leaving the train and getting my bearings, I headed towards the court building that was three blocks away. After walking two blocks, my shoe hit the curb and the left block heel broke off. Awkwardly, I keep on walking. More like limping like Chester on Gun Smoke.

Naturally, the blonde in the expensive business suit and stilettos was witness to the block heel breaking. Entered the court building doors. Went through security and went straight to the elevators. Right on my heels, the blonde entered the elevator. She rolled her eyes and selected her floor. She didn't say a word. Was thankful that she left the elevator before me.

Arriving at the correct floor and department, the clerk slowly walked to the window. Giving her the documents to be filed, I waited for my copy to be date stamped. Once completed, the clerk rolled her eyes. The awkward and embarrassing broken heel didn't cause her reaction. Her indifference was due to the fact that I was filing without a lawyer. Reading her body language, it screamed the audacity. While the experience was awkward and embarrassing for me, the clerk didn't care about the broken block heel.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Thank you for reading. You are appreciated!

satirevintagefashion
12

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist25 days ago

    Wow... I've heard stories about shoes breaking. Haven't had it happen... yet!😉😊💕

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Thanks for sharing 😱😬💕

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    Oh I loved reading this! So much packed in here. Great job!

  • Omgggg! I'm so sorry that happened to you! Many years back when I was in college, the straps of my sandals gave way. Opposite my college was Tesco. I had to walk while dragging my feet all the way to Tesco and bought myself a new pair of sandals. So many people witnessed my embarrassed journey 😅

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Babs, you crack me up - you are gutsy. The Chester Gun Smoke reference is a great visual!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Great story Babs! You took everything like a champ!

  • Dress for success even under duress.

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    I loved this too much, and this challenge is right up my street! Thank you for the information and the story! ;)

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    🤣😂🤣😅🤣 OMGOSH! That was awesome!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.