Viva logo

An illustrious ticket

En vogue, & company.

By pür aquaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
An illustrious ticket
Photo by yunona uritsky on Unsplash

The moment she walked in I felt a bazillion times better. Heels trotting upon the wet tile floor as she motioned quickly in my direction... I’d been waiting for a while. I recognized the scent of Muse on her, donning it like it was her goal to permeate the room with it; nevermind that it left my head in a daze.

The jingle of her decorated chest & all these medals layered heavily on one side — I likened them to honorable mentions. Avant garde or not, her presence was the real gift.

She pressed up close to me in a tight hug; the smell of high-end skincare products faint beneath her following gaze.

“Let’s call this our little A.S.M.R. moment,”

A few taps on her smartwatch. I was still square in my seat, imagining what it would be like to get the photoshoots rolling. I jotted a few more inspired notes in my Moleskine notebook before I nearly leapt out of my chair & met her at the vanity. We were going from the warehouse to a vineyard & then a cathedral as a plan for our shoot. I gestured towards my teapot.

“It’s mint, girl. Lightly sweetened with honey. Your favourite...”

She politely declined.

She started laying her tools out. Some, identical to paintbrushes. She took a bamboo comb & began brushing my hair.

“Do you mind if I put on some music?”

On her cargo pants, an oversized pocket that held a wireless speaker.

Click!

The sounds of crisp water trickled amongst a fantasy woodland forest. She placed it gingerly on top of where I laid my little black notebook. Now, blotting my bare face with tiny papers that picked up excess oil...

“I told you about how my investment deal went awry? They backed out,”

My eyes widened in surprise. I had to take a breath out as she layered my lips with balm. In all these years of her not only being my makeup artist but fellow creative, I didn’t know what to say. I knew she wanted more for herself. She was still softly pressing pops of colours on my lips.

“I’m so sorry, babe...”

I was thinking about the lengths cosmetics go these days to make a splash when she removed an attached miniature pry from the back of a tin labeled *blush* & started twisting it open like a can opener. We eyed the peachy, glistening tints enclosed within it like no other. Suddenly, her expression opened towards me.

“Oh, look!”

A tiny envelope neatly inplace under the lid. We were all eyes as she opened it. An illustrious ticket. Emboldened in cursive on it, the words, *winner!*

“It says I just won $20,000 dollars...”

The mint tea I was sipping on sprayed out of my mouth. Her expression, frozen.

“Oh, look at you! Girl, that’s wonderful!”

She was shaking in my embrace. My makeup halfway done but we were both beaming.

“Let’s get this show on the road! We both know what your plans are for the money...”

I gave her a sly wink. She folded the ticket & put it in her pocket. She was beginning to tear up. I poured her a cup of tea & she downed it in one go. Her medals were jingling with excitement.

It wasn’t long before she blew through the rest of the look & we were flipping hangers out from outfits before us. We felt out the numerous textures, zipping & lacing up the different ensembles; some of which would have been impossible to even dress-up & into on my own.

When we finally established a few fit styles, it was time to start putting our ideas into practice. Images of the settings we were set to arrive to floated in my mind. As we wrapped up, everything was in a flurry. I made sure to grab my notebook before we left.

The vineyard was lush with greenery & flowering fruits. I felt the tug of play in my fit amongst the purple of the grapes. Visions of ballerinas danced around in my every curve & twist.

Click! Click, click!

We had to stop for a cup of wine after & cheers to the celebratory win. A single clink of our glasses within the fray of those enjoying quiet conversation around us. Our talk was very inspired; skirting around subjects of how much can change in a moment to the chances of getting what one wished for. Then, we were back on the road again.

“Let’s go over our next theme once more...”

I opened up my Moleskine notebook & shared pieces of the visionboard I conjured up. On my side, I was tightening up a pastel slip while simultaneously speaking hurriedly of what I liked & wanted to go for. We were both nodding in agreement by conversation’s end. A few peeks at what we photographed already, & the cathedral was finally in view.

With such an immense structure in sight, it was evident we stepped out on holy grounds. A special moment. I knew that was exactly what I wanted to capture on camera.

Hidden underneath a train of pillowing sheers, in the midst of silk, dyed & gradient, I was there recreating the wind below the vast interior that housed us.

Lost yet found.

Click!

An emotive sigh... I posed like I was on my way back out.

Click, click!

Another pose where I held myself softly — my posture dedicated to the gods above.

Click, click! Click!

I was feeling the fantasy.

I could see a big smile begin to rise from behind the camera. It was in that instance I knew we caught what we came for.

fashion
Like

About the Creator

pür aqua

stilnovismo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.