Viva logo

2k22's Hottest Summer Bods of Sports & Entertainment 5

Corrina Courser symbolizes mental strength

By Winners OnlyPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Corrina, Aliyah, Salina

Aliyah Llanusa

Aliyah Llanusa

Aliyah Llanusa of Central Oklahoma is a 5-7 guard at Central Oklahoma. She averaged a career best 7.4 points per game, scoring double figures in six of her last seven games of the season. The Choctaw, Oklahoma native scored a season's high 18 points while matching a year's best six steals against Missouri Western. The NCAA Division II hooper has 10,300 followers on her growing Instagram account.

Salina de la Renta

Salina de la Renta

Salina de la Renta has been one of the brightest young stars in women's professional wrestling over the past half decade. She has served as a pro wrestler, commentator, showrunner and executive producer. With over 164,000 Instagram followers, de la Renta has done well individually, successfully moving merchandise with her likeness and producing successful accounts on Patreon and OnlyFans.

Corrina Courser

Corrina Courser

Corrina Courser was a national qualifier for the NCAA Division II Track & Field Championships in the 100-meter hurdles. She had a very strong season at Grand Valley State University, winning the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference gold in the 60-meter hurdles during the indoor season. She also snatched a silver medal in the 100-meter hurdles during outdoor season.

We talk to the champion about mental health and body positivity and how it has helped her on and off the track.

Winners Only: Hi Corrina. You have had a successful start to your collegiate career, winning a conference championship this year. Tell the readers about the biggest reasons why you have been so successful.

Corrina Courser: Thank you. Compared to last year to this year I have change my mindset completely. I always used to doubt myself and that led me to not do as great in my sport. I had a talk with my coach and he told me that I had to start staying positive things to myself and reassuring myself that I am great. One of the changes that I made that has impacted me the most is never ever saying, "I can’t do this." Also pushing my body to the limits right when I feel like I’m about to give up, I start pushing a little bit harder. This sport is all mental and about who can take the pain. As I always say, “you've got to suffer a little bit in order to get a better outcome.”

Positive energy is so important. I often tell people the first thing you ever learned to do as a human is complain. We came out of the womb crying and complaining. Have you applied positive energy off of the track as well? Has it made a difference in your everyday life?

I have 100 percent applied this to my daily life. When things get hard off the track with family, work and being a full-time student I try to think back to when I was younger. When I was younger I dreamed of being a college athlete. I am blessed to be one now, so anything that’s thrown in my way that can knock me down will never keep me down.

Just like the hurdles I have crashed and burned so many times and not one time did I ever stay on the ground. I got right back up and tried it again until I got that one percent better. That one percent goes along way, not just with track but with your mental health and your confidence.

It's cool how we can show off a little body positivity but tap into mental health which is more important. Let's lighten the mood a bit. Has your summer had any fun moments so far? You're young, in college and people could naturally assume that the party life is about as good as it's gonna be in your life. Is that true?

This summer has been a good stress reliever! I spend my time with my family and friends and some of the activities included going to the beach or working out together. The party life side is a bit small. Just due to me being an athlete, I don’t attend parties that much. The most I would get out of a party would be team bonding and having a get-together with my teammates.

We're in a body positive era where being thick, curvy and strong is socially accepted and even preferred in pop culture. How do you feel about your physique and have you ever had to overcome any doubts about it?

At the moment I am still working my way to being a strong and fit body for my sport. I do suffer from body dysmorphic disorder and I often look at my body and am never satisfied. I always tell myself I could be better but that’s something I had to overcome and start telling myself to stop comparing myself to others. I soon accepted my body that God gave me and started working on me and being happy with my progress.

When you take a look at your most recent Instagram post on the beach, what comes to mind? Are you happy with the woman you see in the photos? It's interesting because we see it and go "Wow she is beautiful," but what does the woman who is in the photo thinking at the moment?

In the moment I was very insecure due to people looking at me, but I felt beautiful and confident. I work on myself all year around and why not show myself off a little and feel good about it?

Yeah it's an amazing thing how we perceive ourselves. There are women working like crazy wishing they could look like you, but inside you don't even think about that. I think we all have a little bit of that in all of us. Not celebrating who we are and the gifts that we have on a regular basis.

Exactly! Sometimes I just need to take a step back and take a look at all my hard work.

You're an NCAA Division II athlete and while your school is very successful most people outside of the NCAA Division II world don't know it exists. Tell us what's the coolest thing about going to GVSU.

The coolest thing besides the successful program is that it’s very family oriented and when learning they provide all the help you can get for free to make sure you pass successfully.

Finally what's the big goal for 2023 on the track?

My big goal for the 2023 season is to make it to the [NCAA Championships] in the 60-meter hurdles and lower my time in the 200 meters during the next indoor season. For outdoor I want to get on the podium at the NCAA Championships for the 100-meter hurdles and make it in the 4x100.

Thanks and all the best.

You’re welcome! You too as well!

body
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.