Viva logo

2k22's Hottest Summer Bods of Sports & Entertainment 4

Kasey Kidwell talks move to Queens U.

By Winners OnlyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read
1
Brenna, Kasey & Annah

Annah Stanley

Annah Stanley

It's been a while since we've featured this talented athlete. After an accomplished high school track and field career in Ohio, Annah competed at Thomas More in 2020 where she was active during the indoor season. Now at Wilberforce, she caught our eyes with a recent birthday shoot on her Instagram page. Happy 21st Annah.

Brenna Cavanaugh

Brenna Cavanaugh

Brenna Cavanaugh just finished her collegiate career at Eastern Michigan. Last outdoor season she had a runner-up finish at the Len Paddock Open in the long jump. During the indoor season Brenna made it to the final round of the 60-meter hurdles of the Mid-American Conference for the second time of her career. She's also built a solid following online with over 71,000 followers on TikTok and nearly 11,000 on Instagram.

Kasey Kidwell

Kasey Kidwell

Kasey Kidwell competed at Austin Peay but is now headed to play for Queens University. The stylish guard talks with us about her transfer, body positivity and encourages youth to have confidence in their physiques no matter their shape and size.

Winners Only: Hi Kasey. How has your summer gone so far?

Kasey Hey! Summer is going good just been working out and a lot!

You were playing at Austin Peay and now you've transferred to Queens. Tell us about your most rewarding moment as a player at your previous school.

Personally my most rewarding moment is having one of best seasons at Austin Peay. We went 20-13 which was the best record I have been apart of the whole time I’ve been there. We won games we were not expected to win. We made it further in the conference tournament then we have done in a few years. So just being on a team that accomplished so much this past year was really one of the most rewarding things for me. Because i can say i came from a great program my last year there.

What's the plan at Queens and why the move there?

I wanted a different scenery, and it’s a lot closer to home so my family can come watch me play a little easier now. The plan at queens is to have a good season and this program was [Division II], now we are going into [Division I] into the ASUN conference. So we are the underdogs but we plan to make a big impact once conference season starts

Ok so we are gonna talk a little body positivity but how about a little mental health for all the athletes out there. Making a jump from Division II to Division I can be tough. What will be most important on a mental level for your team to deal with if things don't necessarily start off the way you want them to start?

It will be overcoming adversity. Every basketball player will have ups and downs when things don’t go their way. A way to overcome difficulties on a basketball team is make sure everybody is on the same page during the whole season and still have a goal they all want to accomplish. Lean on each other and be there for each other because everybody is going through the same workouts and practices. And you always have to remember that you control the things that you can control.

What does body positivity mean to you?

Body positivity means, being able to be comfortable in your own skin and embracing who you are as a person because your body image does not define you. Now, I'm not saying you have to wake up every day and love every part of your body because there are days that I may get discouraged of my stomach or arms, but I know I'm more than just my body. Body positivity should be embracing the fact we all deserve to live in our bodies without the fear of rejections from society.

You seem to show femininity, style and body positivity even on the court. Is that important to you as a player or just a coincidence?

It’s important to me as a player because I feel like some girls who are athletes might feel uncomfortable in their own skin or don’t know how to show their femininity off the court.

I was that young athlete before. I struggled finding my girly side and always was the tomboy growing up and played with the guys. Nothing is wrong with that of course, but when I did show my girly side people judged me. At the age of 16 I finally wore a dress and it caught everybody off guard.

I want to show women athletes that you are more than just an athlete and can show your feminine side and be comfortable wearing whatever you want. You can rock your heels and not have to wear sneakers all the time.

Even at a young age I wasn’t that comfortable with my body but I know looking back I was perfectly fine because I was an athlete so I was stronger then most girls in my class. But to me I thought I was just bigger and chubby. But I want young athletes to know to never compare yourself to anybody.

A lot of people don't realize that not too long ago being thin was in and everyone else was considered fat and of shape. Now being thick and curvy is championed and often preferred. Tell us about the pros and cons of having a physique like yours during this era when it is more welcomed.

My pros of having a physique like mine fit me well for basketball. I workout everyday because of basketball so I'm very fit and that’s a big pro for myself. I'm considered a small guard when I'm on the court but I play like a big guard with the body type that I have.

I get to the basket strong and I allow my body to go through defenders. A con with my body type is it gets a lot of attention that sometimes I do not necessarily enjoy. Getting catcalled, or people only liking me because of my body. I'm more than my physique and I know a lot of women go through the same experiences as well.

Are there any necessary things you have to do as well as stay away from to keep the physique that you like to maintain?

I never eat fast food, or drink sodas. I’ll always stay away from those two things. But other than that I love to eat but I do watch how many calories I consume everyday. And I’m always working out. I lift a three times a week and play pick up every other day with my team or friends to maintain a good shape for my basketball season

You've been able to build a fanbase with social media that athletes 10 years ago and before didn't have access to. You don't have to play in a game to be seen on a daily basis. What has been the most valuable part about being an athlete in this era?

Making connections, I’ve met a lot of high end athletes and trainers that I have been connected to. I literally trained out in Los Angeles because social media allowed me to connect with a trainer out there. Connections are huge and I think that’s one of the most valuable things that has come out of it for me.

So after this season, does basketball continue for you?

Yes, I would like to go overseas.

What do you see Kasey doing at 50?

I love basketball. ut has become apart of me. So I still want to be around the sport. Even if that means I’m coaching, or training athletes. But I definitely will be doing something around basketball, helping others reaching the same goals I had.

body
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.