Unbalanced logo

Track & Field 2k22: MACtion

Daniels & Griffith win gold

By Winners OnlyPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Kent State's Benja Duff celebrates with Mi'Angel Daniels.

The Mid-American Conference indoor meet took place Feb. 25-26, at Kent State. One of the more exciting stories of the season was the chase for the gold in the 60-meter hurdles. Kent State's Mi'Angel Daniels, Eastern Michigan's Alysse Wade (2020 champion) and Northern Illinois' Scout Regular (2021 runner-up) were three favorites in this year's field. The race also included last season's champion Jaqueline Pokuaah of Akron, who also posed a threat.

Daniels entered the meet tied with the conference's fastest time of the season with Alysse Wade at 8.55. In the final all of the Daniels, Regular and Wade all accomplished career best times. Daniels won at 8.362 just ahead of Regular's 8.368, while Wade placed third at 8.38. This was Daniels' first gold medal finish at the championship meet. Last season she just missed getting her first medal when she placed fourth in the final. We caught up with the Kent State senior after the win.

Winners Only: You came Kent State to do something like this. How has the journey been?

Mi'Angel Daniels: It's been a rough road. I've been here for almost six years. It's been up and down. I'm just happy it came together here at home in my last year. I had amazing competition this year. All the ladies in the field pushed me. I knew it was going to be a fight. I wasn't coming in here thinking that I'm gonna do this or do that, I just wanted to come out here and compete. Everyone gave their best and I'm just so happy.

So you didn't plan this out, to go out with your first championship on your home track? (Laughs)

No I just wanted to come out and compete so whatever happened, would happen.

Tell me what it was like running against Alysse who has won championships before.

She is amazing. I already knew she was going to be out there. I know she goes hard in finals and she's a strong amazing person to run against.

You've ran against her before, what went right today?

Just sprinting. Getting out of my head and just sprinting. Not thinking too hard ... I was going to be happy just knowing I gave my all.

Last question, how good does it feel to be a champion?

It feels amazing. I already cried like four times and it's my last year. I just wanted to come out here and leave it all on the track for the last time.

The spike heard around the Mid-American Conference

Noriyah Johnson

One of the most fun moments of the Mid-American Conference meet came when Noriyah Johnson rallied on the final leg to lead Eastern Michigan to a win in the 1,600-meter relay. After crossing the finish line she spiked the baton, which put an explanation point to her team's win. We asked her about the gesture after she got her gold medal.

You did that baton spike right?

Noriyah Johnson: You know when you get the gold it's like yes, I did that.

So you knew you were going to win the whole time.

When I came off the curve I said yes, we're first.

What are your future goals for outdoor season?

I want to PR outdoor season. PR again next year and again and again.

So the next time when you win a relay, are you going to spike the baton again?

Yes, I will do that (laughs).

Charity Griffith's star shines bright for Ball State

Charity Griffith

Charity Griffith grabbed two golds for Ball State, winning the high jump and pentathlon. We covered her first meet of the season at Kentucky where she jumped 1.84 upsetting competition from the Big Ten and American Athletic Conference. At the Mid-American Conference meet she jumped a career best 1.85 which is 10th in the NCAA.

On day one of the meet Griffith won the pentathlon as she scored 4,099 which is 16th best in the NCAA this season. After her high jump win on day two we caught up with the high flying sophomore to talk about her season.

You have had a really good year. We saw you at the beginning of the season in Kentucky. What was the most important thing in this season that contributed to your success?

Charity Griffith: Definitely praising God all the way through and kind of just staying with it and being happy no matter how I did.

You're setting school records. Was that intention when you came to Ball State?

Yes but I want more than that for sure. I'm gonna keep going but I'll be happy either way, through the ups and the downs.

So you say you want much more. What do you want?

Pro.

Pro. Understood. The NCAA meet sounds like something you can challenge in, how do you think you will do?

Hopefully I'll do really good. I'm not going to put my hopes all the way up there ... I feel really confident about it for sure.

Catching up with medalist Lillie Franks

Lillie Franks

Finally we had a brief conversation with Kent State high jumper Lillie Franks. Ironically before the meet we happened to be in line behind her at a gas station. We asked her if she was ready for the competition and she confirmed that she was confidently. Hours later Franks won her second career medal at the conference championships. In 2020 she was a runner-up in the high jump. This year she took home the bronze. The junior from the United Kingdon jumped 1.71, finishing behind Ball State's Charity Griffith (1.85) and Eastern Michigan's Quintella Johnson (1.75).

You got your third place medal today right?

Lillie Franks: I did, I did.

Tell us what is the biggest thing that contributed to your success for this season.

I think the biggest thing is just having patience and confidence and knowing that I can do this.

culture
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.