Unbalanced logo

Things with wheels- my ranking

From skateboards to rollerblades

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Things with wheels- my ranking
Photo by ALEXANDRE LALLEMAND on Unsplash

So, I've tried a lot of things with wheels on for size for pleasure (and by default, pain) and I've come to know my preferences pretty well. I also can't believe some are ranked lower on the skatepark hierachy than others, but oh well. Here are my opinions:

1. Rollerblades

By Ambroise NICOLAO on Unsplash

Ooooo you didn't think I'd start with this one did you? Well, in my humble opinion rollerblades are heavily underrated. I mean, when covid hit people flocked to rollerskates and just ignored there.

I get it, they look like more of a challenge and challenge equals more pain and time. I also know most people grew up with roller skates instead (roller rinks were a great thing in my childhood/teenage life too, I can still squat to the floor and even sorta kinda go backwards).

But, c'mon. Rollerblades have this way of making you feel superior and I like things that make me feel...cool. Yup. I've spent countless hours outside on my old and too big ones as a kid, and can't wait to buy a new pair. Only, I know I'll probably suffer for a while since I'm not a kid anymore. This just screams SPEED to me. And I like it.

Also, did you see Brink on Disney? How could you not wanna try inline skating after watching it?

2. Skateboards

Mainly because there are different types for different things and different tricks for different ones (like longboard dancing versus what you'd do on a reg board) and different sub communities. I've had reg ones and a trusty penny that got me everywhere before I gave them away.

I'm actually currently trying to learn how to ollie and getting more and more frustrated each day, but it is pretty cool. I like the community and I like the conversations to be had within them. Pretty chill sport with lots of history. Great for pleasure or for a career (I mean getting into the olympics is pretty huge and they already get their own major competitions).

But, I don't usually have fun with it. More of a get from place to place thing for me. But, I am pretty determined to learn tricks nowadays and I like watching vids of people in competitions.

Note: I've never tried dirt boards/mountain boards, but Johnny Kapahala: Back on Board made it seem so sick. I wanna try one of these days.

3. Rollerskates

By Luke Southern on Unsplash

Like I said, I've spent a loooooot of hours at roller rinks.

I love the atmosphere for them, but I never really tried to use them outside and just categorized rollerskating as an inside activitity until the videos started popping up during Covid. I mean, I did practice going backwards a few times outside, but I maily used my own pair for the rink down the street where literally everyone in town would go. I liked it, but it was moreso just how everyone seemed so happy that made it fun for me. I wanted to be able to do everything I saw everyone doing, but mainly stuck with "speed" as my trick ha.

But, they're still pretty cool and I hope to get back into it eventually.

4. Regular, bmx and mountain bikes

By Julian Hochgesang on Unsplash

Ok, So I was in a "biker gang" as a kid. Not really. But, it felt like it. We were tough, we hungout, some of us didn't even have bikes...

I've had a bike for most of my life and after I taught myself how to ride them without training wheels (by holding it against the outside of my house) I felt ready to take on the world. I'd try tricks like standing on the seat or having one foot on the bar and the other on the seat. I'd practice wheelies in the garage, determined to get them higher. And riding with no hands just seemed like the most impressive thing anyone could do. So casual. So slick. So cool. Not a care in the world as my hands stayed at my side.

Now I watch videos of people doing tricks in streets and just totally going for it.

I remember watching Motocross and Buffalo Dreams on Disney and being really into the idea of flying down hills on a bike. But, we didn't have a place like that nearby and I didn't have a bike or helmet (or mother) fit for stunts like that.

5. Scooters

By Okai Vehicles on Unsplash

I'm not a scooter hater. I'm not the type to hate on scooter riders or anything either. But, my ankles are. Taking a razor scooter to them has caused me to flinch from just seeing people ride them. If I see them fall or attempt a trick, I gotta look away.

I know some skaters don't like scooter kids because apparently their parents just drop them off at the park and they get in the way and are seen to be "menaces," but, I've never came in contact with that type of kid or issue. And I think people should enjoy the park.

Learning how to do tricks on the scooter seems mad complicated, so much respect to anyone that tries.

culture
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.