Unbalanced logo

Ski Team Beats the Rain

See Slideshow

By Rich MonettiPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
Like

On Wednesday January 24, the John Jay/North Salem/Somers Ski team took to the slopes at Thunder Ridge and the landscape wasn’t quite a winter wonderland. “It was definitely annoying because of how wet you could get,” said Emma Klares. “It soaks through your suit, which is really uncomfortable.” But stating a rainy day fact doesn’t mean the skier could think of a better way to spend the evening.

“I’m glad we got to ski today,” said the senior, and the John Jay Wolf hydroplaned the drizzle to a 15th place finish (34.32).

The challenge was denser snow and the ruts that made it harder to carve through. The water splashing up in her googles wasn’t great either. Still, Klares made do. “It went better than expected,” said the softball pitcher/skier.

The 4th best time on the team, the top Wolf was Mia Bourla. “I did fairly well,” she said of her 5th place finish (29.32)

Of course, the junior noticed the conditions too. “The snow gets really wet and heavy, so you got to make sure you stay nice and loose,” Bourla said. “This way you don’t get thrown around.”

The lesson plan went in reverse, though. “I think I got in my head a bit,” she said of her second run (30.75).

But the John Jay student doesn’t have to overthink the postseason. “Last week at Mohawk, I already qualified for the sectionals,” Bourla revealed.

Not there yet, Daniella Dziedzic took 8th place (31.11) and skied the perilous ruts and divots in stride. “I think it’s exciting,” she said. “You have to ride the rut and really go through it.”

Ellie Sheridan turned into the weather too. “You just have to not let it affect you,” said the Somers Tusker

Good for 13th place (33.49), the senior got ahead of this curve by studying the grain beforehand. “I knew the visibility wasn’t going to be there,” she said. “I really memorized the course, so I could ski it in my head.”

Looking forward, she puts postseason success on being less static on the turns. Instead of going side to side,” said Sheridan, “I need a more up and down motion to keep my momentum going through the curves.”

Isabella Dziedzic shared a similar sentiment after finishing 19th (35.90). “I have to put more pressure on my outside ski and be more aggressive,” said the freshman.

Even so, the skier knows her greatest strength doesn’t hinge on a swivel. “Knowing what I want, I have a good mindset,” Dziedzic assured.

And there’s no way to lose - especially when it comes to expressing her love for the sport. “Everything,” the younger Dziedzic didn’t hesitate.

Emmy Corlett, on the other hand, did a 180 on what she liked about the rain. “Nothing,” she implored.

But the senior still kept her sense of humor. “Really slushy,” she joked, “It smelled like mash potatoes.”

A fan of the dish nonetheless, her teammates make up for any shortfalls. “The most spirited people, we cheer each other on, and we’re like a family,” said Corlett.

As for the boys, James Bysshe was the top gun - despite the fact that he was flying blind. “I could not see anything,” said the John Jay Wolf.

Still, the sophomore was more concerned with beating the clock than arriving in one piece. “Big holes,” he said, "just look out and ride.”

Second place overall (32.49), his flight plan to return to the states is about as complicated as a nonstop one way ticket. “Just go faster,” Bysshe deadpanned.

On his coattails, his brother Porter is a frequent flier too and didn’t get bogged down in the weather report. “I find the rain fun,” said the third place finisher (33.44).

A trip to the states on his wish list too, the freshman got a little more specific on what needs to improve. On the stepper part of courses, he said “I think I can increase my speed.”

The Wolf would also like to beat his brother and so probably would Sean O’Meara. In ninth place (36.90), the traverse takes him to the top no matter the results. “You feel like you’re flying,” O’Meara explained.

Grounded either way, the skier knows where he can make up the difference. “I’m hoping to get more aggressive and make better turns,” said the John Jay sophomore. “I have to put more pressure on my downhill ski.”

A little tough on a day like today, according to Josh Burkart. On the gates and turns, said the Somers Tusker, “You get a splash of water in your face.”

The good news is in the absence of vision, he knows the course and the game. “It’s muscle memory,” said Burkart, who finished 33rd (44.83).

No matter, the senior has tunnel vision for the season's end. “Get to the states,” Burkart concluded.

hockey
Like

About the Creator

Rich Monetti

I am, I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.