Unbalanced logo

Shoot

A quiet victory

By John EvaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Shoot
Photo by Kylie Osullivan on Unsplash

The morning of the game, I woke up with a strange sense of detachment. Basketball had become an afterthought, just another item on a long list of things that I would soon leave behind. My mind was already racing ahead to college, to the future, to everything that lay beyond the confines of this small town. I thought about my friends, who were scattering to the winds. It was hard to imagine what my life would be like without them, without the familiar routines and faces that had defined my existence for so long.

The basketball game seemed inconsequential in the grand scheme of things. It was just another reminder of all the things that I would fail at, all the times when I would fall short of my dreams. And yet, in some strange way, that realization gave me a sense of clarity.

Heartland High was not known for its basketball team. In fact, the Lions were the laughingstock of the league. Four years on the team, and I had never experienced the thrill of victory. Not once. But even worse than the constant losing was the feeling that I was the weakest link on the team. It wasn't that I was small or slow, or that I couldn't shoot. It was that I was always too afraid to shoot the ball. The fear of missing kept holding me back. It seemed like everyone else always had a better shot. And even though I had been a part of the team for four years, I never really felt like I belonged. But for some reason, the coach had never cut me. Maybe it was because we were such a small team that every body counted.

The gym was packed for our last game of the season. Everyone knew we were going to lose, but it didn't stop the crowd from showing up to watch us try. I could feel the eyes of my classmates on me as I took the court. The pressure was suffocating. I felt like a fraud, like I didn't deserve to be out there. But as the game progressed, something shifted inside of me. Maybe it was the realization that this was the last time I would ever play basketball for Heartland. Maybe it was the fact that we were getting blown out so badly that I had nothing left to lose. Whatever it was, I found myself with the ball in my hands, wide open for a shot.

I hesitated for a moment, unsure of whether to shoot or pass. But then I remembered all the times I had passed up shots in the past, all the times I had let my fear get the best of me. I took a deep breath and let the ball fly. For a split second, everything went quiet. The ball arced through the air, and I watched as it hit the backboard and bounced off the rim. But then, to my disbelief, it dropped through the net. The crowd erupted in cheers. In that moment, I felt like I had accomplished something monumental. I had finally scored a point, after four years of nothing. It didn't matter that we were still losing by twenty points. For the first time in a long time, I felt like I belonged on that court.

In that moment, I felt like I could do anything. Like all the doubts and insecurities that had been holding me back for so long had been washed away in a flood of triumph. I felt invincible, unstoppable, like I could take on the world and come out on top. For a brief, shining moment, I was a hero.

As I look back on that last game, I realize that it wasn't the point that mattered, but the shot itself. In that instant, I discovered the thrill of possibility, no matter how unlikely it is. And even though we lost the game, that single shot was a victory all its own, a symbol of the courage and determination that can make even the smallest moments feel epic. Looking back now, I see that life is full of those moments - the small triumphs, the quiet victories.

I'm #1. This is from my freshman year in high school, so still had some growing to do. We were cool.

basketball
1

About the Creator

John Eva

I just like writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • JBazabout a year ago

    So good, I actually can empathize with you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.