Unbalanced logo

OU-Texas Week 2022

Bracing for the 1st Unranked OU-Texas Game of my Lifetime (I'm assuming)

By Sean SPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I'm a spoiled shit in this Red River Rivalry and in general as 2000 was my 1st OU Season.

My Facebook Status is about to read:

"Sorry in advance guys if we lose Red River, I broke down and broke unspoken tradition, I had What-A-Burger during OU-Texas Week. I rationalized it to myself by thinking we're basically supposed to lose this one going in with a Concussed Starting Quarterback and and Backup that didn't stick around at Pitt despite finally having Kenny Pickett out of his way. Plus Sonic sucks by comparison and Braum's doesn't serve lunch menu til 11 am."

For what surely must be the first time in my entire 30 year going on 31 year old life we're about to have to suffer through an OU-Texas Game with both teams unranked as we're both deservedly absent from both the AP & Coaches Polls. If it were the BCS Era we could probably scrounge up some computer polls that have one and/or both of us ranked in the 23-25 Range, but the point remains. We're about to play an ESPN2/SECNetwork Quality Game on ABC thanks to our awesome reputations and ESPN's Agenda helping us with our move to the SEC.

It's a rare cauldron of complete mockery from both our affiliated conferences laughing at our ineptitude I'm sure. And since Texas has an amazing tendency to play down to lesser competition maybe it's actually a good thing that we're looking to be the lesser team going in as Texas is Favored by 3.5.

I'll be able to watch this year as well since I'm going to off after my 4 Night Workweek I start tonight. Sadly with how little it means and how down-quality the game is likely to be this year, this would've been a good one to have to work during. Although with the 11 am kickoff, I'd have been able to watch it all on my DVR before work regardless, save any 5 OT bullshit madness again.

I'm a fantastically spoiled Sooner Fan having the year 2000 and our 63-14 Victory being my very first Sooner Season and our National Championship Season (at least Josh Heupel and Tennessee have cracked the Top 10, lol.) So as a result actually watching the game and surviving the week and the bragging rights is the most annoying annual event every year!! I think 3 Hours of Chinese Water Torture would actually be preferable to watching non-OU Blowout Win OU-Texas Games.

And the TCU Kid that absolutely leveled Dylan Gabriel HAD to be a former Longhorn Fan throwing them a bone, because TCU practically had the game won already. Plus he knew 100% wasn't going to get away with it.

It didn't help that the Media jumped on the bandwagon to graciously over-rank us just because they love watching us fall off the proverbial cliff. And perhaps the biggest indignity is Stillwater being #7 and being the Big XII's last best hope.

At least Amarillo, where I'm currently sad and stranded isn't very big on Longhorn Culture, and frankly it's basically Sooner Territory, I-40 Corridor. Don't get me wrong, Texas Tech is the local team. But the Amarillo Cracker Barrel has an OU Section and a Texas Tech Section, need I say more. Still, having to live in Texas, working for the State of Texas, in a job I'm stuck in for 25 more years til pension is really soul destroying. So it does amp up the pressure on me emotionally. Thankfully Kyler Murray's OU-Texas Game is the only one we've lost in my Amarillo Years. Fun Tangent, Taylor Swift took advantage of us not using Jerryworld by scheduling her Repuation Stadium Tour Show and the one she filmed the Netflix Special at for THAT night, lamo. But perhaps I'm getting too personal and into left field's weeds.

In a shorter nutshell, this particular OU-Texas Game means both absolutely nothing and absolutely everything at the same time!

For more great OU-Texas Content, Christian Perez, my Longhorn Acquaintance I most admire, made a short-lived Red River Rivalry: The Podcast.

https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLqtP3bXwCaEAQ2Urljkl2196MoSqJEWyF

culturefootballproduct review
Like

About the Creator

Sean S

Please also check out Red River Rivalry THE Podcast!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.