Unbalanced logo

MMA trilogies we'll never get, unfortunately

comment any I forgot!

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1
MMA trilogies we'll never get, unfortunately
Photo by Alonso Reyes on Unsplash

Throughout MMA history the potential of a trilogy is always something us MMA fans salivate for, until they finally happen. GSP V Hughes, Chuck v Randy, Conor vs Dustin, are just a few of the greatest MMA trilogies. Now on the flipside, unfortunately sometimes the trilogies we get don't live up to their potential. Age, timing, lack of interest could all taint a good three-peat. However, more often than not part 3 just never happens. After that, us mma fans are just left to wonder "what-if" we got a part 3? That's where I come in, my incredibly loyal subscribers.

Amanda Nunes vs Valentina Shevchenko part 3

This one hits especially hard now that Amanda Nunes is now retired. As I said in my previous article "The lioness has laid to rest", I am a huge Valentina fan. I would have loved to see Valentina redeem her losses to Amanda. Granted Valentina is currently no longer champion, at the time of me publishing this article. And honestly, Amanda had nothing left to prove before she retired. I think it's great she retired on top after she noticed she's no longer invincible. It really disgusts me that Juliana thinks she retired purely to dodge their trilogy, when their 2nd fight was a landslide victory for Amanda. Anyways, prior to the Juliana defeat. Valentina seemed like the only person who was truly the only woman who could beat Amanda. Granted Juliana proved us wrong, but Amanda proved that on her best day Juliana couldn't even touch her. Before I get hate for this I'm not saying it was a fluke Juliana won or anything like that, but in sports everyone has their day. It's as simple as that. I got side tracked for a moment, but man Amanda v Valentina 3 would have torn the roof off where ever they fought.

Jones vs Daniel Cormier 3:

I'm going to add a twist to this. With Jones now being heavyweight champion, and DC once being double champ at light-heavyweight and heavy weight. What if we could rewind time and have their last fight at heavyweight? Jones goes out of his way to call out DC at his biggest and baddest. He's already beaten him twice at light-heavy weight. Let's finish the trilogy at heavyweight. That callout would have sent waves through the MMA world.

Ronda Rousey vs Miesha Tate 3:

Prior to Holly and Amanda absolutely demolishing Ronda, Miesha was the only girl who was ever truly a challenge for Ronda. Given a 3rd chance in both of their primes, I feel like Miesha could have beaten Ronda to finish the trilogy. Worst case scenario, if Miesha ever gets bored enough. Maybe cupcake can find her way to the WWE, Ronda V Tate in a steel cage match? I don't hate that idea. Now I have heard that Ronda is back, but there's currently rumors of the return being at 145lbs, Miesha has made her way down to 125, but if they do make a 3rd at 135. I just don't see it happening or even being worth it anymore.

Chael vs Silva 3:

I know Silva took the 2-0 lead. But Chael was one of the few people to really crack the spider's code in his prime. He was so close in both fights. I still believe if Chael had a 3rd chance before Weidman took the belt. Chael had what it took to beat the spider in his prime, without the help of Anderson's arrogant antics. By the way I swear that alliteration was purely happenstance.

Honorable mentions: basically anybody Joanna has ever fought. She had a habit of fighting someone twice but never 3 times (Rose, Claudia, Zhang), although in theory there is still time I highly doubt Nate V Conor 3 will happen too much time has passed and honestly the hype is just gone. Let me know if there are any that I missed!

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are always appreciated but by no means required.

fighting
1

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.