Unbalanced logo

Double champ is back

Amanda Nunes and where we go from here

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
I do not own this video, no copyright intended

I'm a little late but sue me. I still have to work my day job so I'm not writing as much as I would like but I'm working on that I promise. Anyways, Amanda Nunes is back, that fight was a freaking war! Wow, that fight definitely lived up to the hype and certainly earned the UFC way more fans. I have to give it up to both Pena and Nunes. I didn't really mind who won the rematch, the narratives both ways were great. But it is amazing to literally watch history be made, as Amanda said in her post fight interview she's the only double champ to regain her double champ status after losing one of her belts.

So where do we go from here? I have 3 ideas, most of these are pretty predictable but sue me. They're the most realistic ideas. The only time I'll mention an idea that is unrealistic, it will be very clear that I'm just trolling. For example I'd say, there should be an extreme rules fatal 5-way between: Amanda Nunes, Cris Cyborg, Valentina Shevchenko, Julianna Pena, and Kayla Harrison where the woman who wins takes literally all the belts regardless of weight class and/or organization. That way we'll have our first ever quintuple champion in MMA history. Trust me it will be very stupid.

1. Complete the Pena trilogy

The good news about this trilogy is right now the score is 1-1. Let's run it back one more time for a true definitive winner. I know both parties would be game, the only issue with this is in order for both women to heal and for this rivalry to not feel exhausting. Amanda even did say before she fights Julianna again she'd want to defend her Featherweight belt, something Amanda hasn't had to do since she beat Megan Anderson March of 2021. I'm so glad she's taking that belt seriously and wants to legitimize the Women's Featherweight division. So we have to let both women breath from each other for a while. Let them breathe for the rest of the year, then at the 1st quarter of next year give Amanda say Macy Chiasson a shot at the 145lb title if Macy wins her fight at the end of this year. Then Julianna should fight Ketlen Vieria, Ketlen is on a mission in the Bantam weight division. If both Julianna and Amanda win those fights, say this time next year. We go for round 3 to end their rivalry.

2. Valentina Trilogy

Although Nunes has already won their first two fights. However there's still plenty of controversy surrounding the outcome of their second fight. Let's just give Valentina the satisfaction of one last fight against Amanda. Am I bias because I love Valentina and want to see her finally get a W on Amanda? Absolutely I am, do I care? No, I do not. This is my account, deal with it. Now sadly with how dominant Valentina is over the flyweight division and that being her home, I think she'll view it as a literal waste of time to even entertain a 3rd fight. She could just continue her dominance in the Flyweight division and set seemingly unbreakable records for future fighters aspiring to be as great as Valentina was after she hangs up her gloves.

3 Kayla Harrison

As mentioned above, Amanda has not defended her Featherweight belt since her fight against Megan Anderson in March 2021 and she has only defended her Featherweight twice since she won the belt in December 2018 against Cyborg. Luckily Amanda is more than happy to defend that belt, which makes me very happy to see. Mad respect to the champ champ. Now I love this because even if it's a work, I love the storyline of their being bad blood from the former ATT double champ and the current ATT champion. I know Kayla isn't into all of that, but it could be fun to see. Kind of like a pseudo/fugazi version of Dillashaw/Garbrandt story. Also of course this means more attention to the UFC's Women's Featherweight division, which we all know I'm always for.

The only part that makes me think this won't happen, is Kayla and the PFL themselves are more focused on making a fight with Cyborg happen. The UFC and Dana White can testify how long that took, so if that's where their resources are focused. Kayla V Amanda may take too long to ever happen or just never happen period.

In a perfect world I would actually love to see all 3 scenarios playout. Every woman on this list still has plenty of fight left in them, and given enough time and planning this all could happen. How fair is that to Amanda? Not at all, I understand. Someone reading this may think I have it out for Amanda making her go through this gauntlet. But in the same way Jon Jones's resume especially in his prime is just loaded with the who's who of his division, Amanda is that great she can do this and rival Jones for beating the best, of the best, of the best, sir! I hope whoever is reading this understands that reference.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are always appreciated but by no means required.

fighting
Like

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.