Unbalanced logo

Mia Puccio has let Fun and Hard Work Guide Her to Becoming an Academic All American

See Slideshow

By Rich MonettiPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Like

Click for Slideshow

On the John Jay fields of play, if Mia Puccio isn’t moving she’s probably not having fun. So sitting still in the classroom must drive her crazy. But the sedentary change in venue doesn't detract from putting all that kinetic energy to good use. “I like working hard,” said Puccio, and the three-sport athlete has now been rewarded for her drive.

“I owe it to the community, and I really couldn’t have done it without my coach, my teammates and my teachers,” said the Academic Lacrosse All-American.

Puccio starts with her teachers. “My teachers create a great environment, and I actually want to learn,” the junior assured.

Of course, success requires time and her coach understands. “Coach Jess (McDonough), she allows us to balance lacrosse and academics. She knows when to push us on the field, and she knows when to let us go early from practice,” said Puccio.

But there’s nothing to balance when it comes to the rewards that school gives on a daily basis. Friends, teachers, guidance counselors, administrators and monitors, she said, “It’s just a fun environment.”

So the social aspect helps take the edge off. “If you look at it in a non stressful way, it’s the easiest way to go through the year and enjoy high school,” Puccio revealed.

Her favorite subject is French and she loves to write, while social studies provides perspective. “I love history. I find it fascinating and think it’s really important that we know the history of our world,” said the Dartmouth commit.

Physics, on the other hand, wasn’t so straightforward. “It was really hard,” she asserted.

But like not shrinking in the face of a stronger opponent, the attacker stood tall in her AP class and welcomed the chance to go toe to toe with Isaac Newton. “Physics was a really fun challenge,” she said.

Tough losses on the field probably weren’t so easily accepted, though, and must have clouded her attention span. Not quite, Puccio said, “I have a very short memory. I think it’s the only way to do sports because losses can be really disappointing. So the only way to get back up on your feet is if you forget.”

She doesn’t let pressure get in her head on game day either. “I’m not thinking about the game all the time. I’m not thinking about which players I have to guard or the plays I want to make until it happens, and then I play,” she said. “That allows me to focus on school.”

Similarly, sports has taught her to always go easy in the classroom. “The moment when sports becomes way too competitive or you're stressed out about it all the time, that’s when the games come to be a little too much. Sports are supposed to be all about having fun, competing and just being grateful for the experience,” said Puccio. “I think I do the same thing when I’m in school.”

That said, Coach McDonough sees the book smarts go in the other direction too. “Her ability to understand the game offensively and defensively is so much fun to watch and coach,” beamed McDonough.

Only another year for John Jay to marvel at Puccio, she will also feel the loss. “Once I graduate, I’m going to be really sad,” she lamented.

Still, the standout can look back and identify another important source of her success. “My parents have never pushed me to be the best athlete or the best student. They just trusted me that I’d be able to do this myself,” said Puccio.

Motivation and determination were the by-product. But experience has also made her realize that she doesn’t need to know the future right now and a major can wait. “I’m just going to let life and the path take me and see what happens,” she concluded.

hockey
Like

About the Creator

Rich Monetti

I am, I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.