Unbalanced logo

Life circumstances

The obstacles in life

By Dan World Published 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
Life circumstances
Photo by Muels on Unsplash

on the final day of my sophomore year of my high school I was hit with a baseball bat in my face am my classmate took a full swing the bat slipped from his hands and came flying toward me before striking me directly between the eyes.i have no memory of the moment the bat smashed into my face with such force that I crushed my nose into a distorted U-shape.immediately a wave of swelling surged throughout my head in a fraction of a second I had a broken nose and multiple skull fractures and two shattered eyes when I opened my eyes I saw people staring at me running to help me,I was unaware on how serious I injured my teacher looped his arm around my shoulder and we began the long walk to the nurse office across the field down the hill and back into school Random hands touched my sides,holding me upright we took our time and walked slowly.nibody realized that every minute matters when we arrived at the nurses office she asked me a series of questions

What year is it

“2025”I answered it was actually 2023.

“What is your Mom’s name?

“Uh.Um.”I stalled ten seconds passed

“Doris,”I said casually ignoring the fact that it had taken me ten seconds to remember my mother’s name.that was the last Question I remember my body was unable to handle the swelling and breathing I was rushed to the hospital and the doctor and I stopped breathing as the doctors hurried to supply me with oxygen they also decided the local hospital was unequipped to handle the situation and ordered the helicopter to fly me to a larger hospital in Cincinnati.i was rolled out of the emergency room doors and toward the helipad across the street the stretcher rattled on a bumpy sidewalk as the one nurse pushed me along while another pumped each breath into me by hand.my mother who arrived at the hospital a few moments before,cloned into the helicopter beside me. I remain unconscious and unable to breathe on my own as she held my hand during the flight while my mother rode with me in the helicopter,my father went back home to check on my brother and sister and the breaking news to them he choked back in tears as he explained to my sister that he would miss her eight grade graduation ceremony that night.when my Mum and I landed on the hospital a team of nearly twenty doctors and nurses sprinted onto the helipad and wheeled become so severe that I was having repeated post traumatic seizure.mercifully by the next morning my breathing had rebounded to the point where the doctors felt comfortable releasing me from the coma when I finally regained consciousness I discovered that I lost my ability to smell.aa a test a nurse ask me to blow my nose but to everyone surprise the act of blowing my nose the sense of smell returned and i was cleared to leave the hospital I returned home The following months were hard it felt like everything in my life was on pause.i had double vision for weeks:I literally couldn’t see straight it took more than months but my eyeballs did eventually returned to its normal location between the seizures and my vision problems it was eight months before I could drive a car at physical therapy,I practiced basic motor patterns like walking in the straight line.i was determined not to let my injury get me down but their more than a few moments when I felt depressed and overwhelmed I became painfully aware of how far to go when I returned to the baseball. after year of self doubt I managed to make the veracity team as a senior Despite the lackluster high school career,I still believe I could become a great player

basketball
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.