Unbalanced logo

John Jay/Yorktown/Somers/Hen Hud Defeats Scarsdale

8-0 on the Season

By Rich MonettiPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Click for All Sectional Photos https://rmonetti.blogspot.com/2022/12/jj-gymnastics.html

The season winding down, John Jay/Yorktown/Somers/Hen Hud matched up against Scarsdale on Tuesday, January 25. At Dynamic Gym in Mohegan Lake, the girls tumbled past the Raiders by a score of 177.85-118.3 and are turning their attention to the postseason.

“My goal is to make the states again,” said Regan Mooney of Yorktown.

That said, she knows where to put her efforts. “I need to get my vault better, said Mooney.

An 8.00 on this evening, her best work came on the beam with a 9.20. “I did my jumps and turns really well and my leaps were really clean,” Mooney said.

The senior didn’t do badly on the floor either. “My tumbling was really strong. “I had a lot of power and got really high, said Mooney after her 9.0

Georgia Nekos felt up in the air too. “I did well in my events today, which is always my goal,” said the Tusker.

By the numbers, a 9.15 on the floor was her high score. “I really landed it,” Nekos said.

But she was more proud of her bounce back on the beam. A few wobbles on high, the senior stayed the course. “I just try to forget about it and move on to the next skill,” asserted Nekos.

As for the postseason, her head is wound on just right. “My goal is to hit all my routines and just have fun,” said Nekos.

Scoring a 9.05 on vault gave Kayla Cambareri reason to cheer too. “I flipped, got height and landed with one step,” said the John Jay Wolf.

Then on the floor, she stayed on point and in step. “I remembered my whole routine and landed all my passes,” said Cambareri of her 8.75.

The freshman also had a 7.7 on the bars, and is pretty satisfied with the improvements she’s made. “At the beginning of the season, I wasn’t turning my giants over and now I’m doing it, said Cambareri.

Meaning, she clarified, “It’s like a big swing from a handstand and then over another handstand.”

Letting fly, Claire Jahaly had a 7.65 in her only event. “I stuck the landing,” the John Jay gymnast said of her vault work.

At the same time, she’s keeping it pretty simple going forward. “I want to score higher and do better,” said Jahaly.

John Jay’s Berkeley Siegel was a solo act too. In turn, her 7.7 on the floor had her measured in terms of providing a personal letter grade. “I got a higher score than last time by a lot,” said Siegel.

An incline that has showed results since the beginning of the year. “I’ve improved my drive, my power and my tumbling,” Siegel assured.

Into the postseason, she’s looking to improve her endurance. “I don’t want to get tired toward the end,” Siegel said.

Finally, Maggie Johannsen of Hen Hud was dressed to the nines on three of four events. The floor coming in as her best, she hammered a 9.5. “I nailed my passes and had nice landings,” said the Sailor.

Technique, on the other hand, does not amount to the most improved aspect of her game. “Confidence plays a big role in gymnastics and more confidence helps you be more solid in your routines,” said the freshman.

All told, Coach Teodora Cepoi definitely noticed the elevated acumen for the entire team. “I’m very happy with the results and their performance tonight. It was the best total team win for the season,” she concluded.

Please like Somers Sports

If you're looking for a sports photographer at any level, I can be reached at [email protected] or 914 318 0997

culture
Like

About the Creator

Rich Monetti

I am, I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.