Unbalanced logo

General Observations On My Interest In Sport

My First Post in the Vocal Unbalanced Community

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Introduction

In the post at the end of this I initially thought I had covered every Vocal Community with my writing but there were six that I had not touched, so I thought it would be a challenge to, so to speak, complete the set. After this in the Vocal Unbalanced Community I will have four more to do, but as these areas have not caught my attention before there may only be one story from me in each of these communities.

There are five that I have not graced with my presence so far are:

  • Blush
  • Marriage
  • Serve
  • Chain
  • Unbalanced *

The Unbalanced Blurb is as below but lists very few sports and they are very North American based and I assume football North American Football where the ball is mostly carried in the hands like Rugby.

The Unbalanced explores the world of sports and the culture surrounding it; from basketball to baseball, football, hockey, wrestling, and more.

The other thing is why do we need Unbalanced and Cleats Communities which both basically cover sport. Cleats is limited to football (or soccer) but football is covered in Unbalanced. This is the Cleats Mission Statement.

Welcome to the world of soccer and association football. From FIFA, to the Premier League, women’s soccer and more. Cleats is all about soccer.

Again Cleats isn’t all about football , just where the money is. That is the teams and galacticos that get the publicity such as Lionel Messi and Christiano Ronaldo.

Initial Observations on the World of Sport

I’ve remarked on the paucity of sports in the Unbalanced Mission Statement, but when you look at how many sports there are in this world is there any wonder that so many are not covered? There are only three lines and, let's face it, Vocal is very North-America-Centric so American Football, Hockey and Basketball are going to take precedence.

On TV and in papers I find most sports vary from boring to just uninteresting, I do like a few sports but I think they can be counted on one hand so I will split the rest of this article into what I like and the sports I’m not interested in (so will try and illustrate a few of them with caustic humorous quotes.

The Sport I Like

I come from Preston and therefore support Preston North End who have not been in the Top Flight since I was born sixty four years back, so real football, or as some people call it soccer is a sport I follow. Below is a piece on Preston North End and is one of my most read Vocal stories.

I don't generally like things that go round a track, but I do enjoy Speedway, probably because Speedway bikes are the only motorcycles that I can ride because they just have an accelerator, so it’s just balance, speed and direction for me.

I love watching the TT (Tourist Trophy) in the Isle of Man because with TV coverage it is watchable, and the riding is impressive. It is more about the talent of the riders rather than the actual machines.

I find Ice Hockey good to watch, it’s fast and can be dangerous but I have not attended a live match for over ten years.

And that is it, all other sports really veer between lack of interest to boredom for me.

The Sport That Doesn’t Interest Me.

  • Rugby - Played by men with odd shaped balls.
  • Golf - A good walk ruined (Mark Twain)
  • Darts - If you can hold a pint or a tab (cigarette) while you are playing, it’s not a sport
  • Cricket - Mostly a load of guys standing around waiting for tea

And the ones that aren’t here just do not interest me at all.

Conclusion on Unbalanced

Now you know my very limited interest in many sports, and I am sure everyone is the same with their own particular sporting love.

That is my Unbalanced piece.

This is the piece that inspired this

footballhockeyproduct review
2

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Sadly sleeping isn't a sport 🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.