Unbalanced logo

Baseball Rule Changes

Leave My Game Alone

By roy SlezakPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Oops!!! That's Too Many Pickoff Attempts

Every year we hear of changes to the rules of baseball that are being pondered by the forces that be. The year 2021 is no different than every other year, lately. In my opinion, the game is fine the way it is and those that think the game needs to be sped up cannot really claim to be baseball fans at all. After all, the more baseball I can get the happier I am.

We have heard about automated strike zones and now have limited instant replay. The automated strike zone was an ill-conceived idea but the instant replay, I think has proven to be successful and should be kept. The replay doesn’t accomplish speeding up the game but even slows the pace down and may even throw the pitcher off his game and take him out of the groove depending on long it takes to make a decision.

So now that brings us to 2021 proposed changes and my opinion on what they can mean if they are implemented at the Major League level.

Someone who was much wiser than me once said, “If it ain’t broke don’t fix it.” It seems the powers that be in Major League Baseball have not heard that quote because they haven’t heeded it at all.

Here we go, onto the proposed 2021 changes being tried out in the Minor Leagues.

I have written about proposed changes to Major League Baseball before. Most proposed changes are aimed at speeding up the game and, some just confound me. The changes are always tried out at various levels of Minor League Baseball and then evaluated.

Some of the proposed changes in 2021 are the elimination of defensive shifts, limiting the number of pick-off attempts a pitcher can make, bigger bases (I guess it’s been true all these years, the Umpires really are blind), a 15 second pitch clock, a relief pitcher required to face at least three batters and putting a runner on second at the start of an extra-inning game.

For lack of enough space to address all the proposed changes I will touch upon a few.

First of all, making a relief pitcher face at least three batters takes away a manger’s strategy, a bad idea. Secondly, putting a runner on second at the beginning of an extra inning game is another ill-conceived idea. That runner did not earn that base by hitting a round ball with a round bat, come -on now this is not the Little League.

As a bonus here, limiting the number of pick-off moves a pitcher can make is also ill-conceived. Does that mean a runner can take a lead halfway to the next base without fear of being picked-off or do we now limit the lead a runner can take (Maury Wills is turning over in his grave)? Depending on what is considered a pickoff attempt the pitcher can merely step off the rubber and chase the baserunner down. Oh wait, he must deliver the next pitch in 15 seconds, so I guess that is now a balk.

You get the picture.

In my humble opinion, speeding up the game is unnecessary. Sitting in the stands, smelling the fresh-cut grass and hot dogs for as long as I can is like heaven.

As Humphrey Bogart said, “A hot dog at the ballpark is better than a steak at the Ritz.”

I agree. Whether it is a 9-inning blowout or a 26- inning marathon game, I love it. As long as they don’t cut off my hot dog intake I’m fine.

Please, Major League Baseball, leave my game alone and let the hot dogs be served.

In my humble opinion, speeding up the game is unnecessary. Sitting in the stands, smelling the fresh cut grass and hot dogs for as long as I can is like heaven.

As Humphrey Bogart said, “A hot dog at the ballpark is better than a steak at the Ritz.”

I agree. Whether it is a 9-inning blowout or a 26- inning marathon game, I love it. As long as they don’t cut off my hot dog intake I’m fine.

Please, Major League Baseball, leave my game alone and let the hot dogs be served.

baseball
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.