The Swamp logo

Life inside India's slums

The everyday moments in one of Mumbai's many slums.

By Hexe News Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Man getting beard shaved, inside Mumbai's slum.

In November, I made the decision to take a trip to India. While, you hear many stories - nothing really compares yourself to the real thing. It's a hectic island filled with culture, magic, and, very often, sadness.

India's poverty is no secret. You see it on every street, on every corner, in every city. It became evident that India has a growing issue with wealth disparity, the moment I stepped foot into Delhi.

So, while in Mumbai, we made the decision to visit one of the slums. I knew that I wanted to document this experience, and with only an iPhone in hand, I was worried I wouldn't capture the moments. Looking back on the photos, I realise that the gadget doesn't necessarily matter - as long as the subject and your intention is authentic.

I never wanted to capitalise off the slums or poverty. I haven't posted any photos from this day, anywhere. I want to include them in an invoking piece about wealth discrepancy in India. I personally felt very strange entering the slums, after all, it isn’t a tourist attraction - this is people’s lives.

However, this photo feels different. I shows getting by with very little. It shows human interaction. It shows real life.

When you think of Mumbai's slums, your mind (more than likely) doesn't jump to a man sat in a barbers chair, getting a fresh shave. To me, this shows India's resilience. Regardless of where you come from, how much money you have, or your upbringing - everybody loves a good pamper session every now and then.

This photo was shot on an iPhone 7+, using portrait mode. No edits have been made. However, when I decide to publish all the shots, I may change the colouring - just so that there’s a consistent theme/it may add to the story to make the pictures more grey. Edits like that can be incredibly impactful, to the story as a whole.

I took hundreds of photos while in India. With subjects like the Taj Mahal, Jaipur's markets, and Udapuir's lakes. Nothing stuck with me quite like the slums, though.

To me, this photo perfectly showcases India's attitude towards hardships. To be content with having, really, nothing at all.

Currently, half of Mumbai's population lives in slums. While, this photo shows a relatively positive moment - it still isn't a way to live. The issue won’t get solved with taking photos, but bringing attention to something that is seemingly forgotten, might just help.

“Redevelopment schemes” also mean that, very often, entire slums are demolished. These schemes rip the hearts out of neighbourhoods, destroying homes and social developments. Without improving conditions or helping the displaced residents. Of course, action needs to be taken to tackle the issue of slums, but a bulldozer is definitely not the answer.

Perhaps, giving these neighbourhoods the means and time to improve, they could evolve into functionable, loveable neighbourhoods? Didn't most cities or towns start from incredibly humble beginnings?

While a trip to the slums made me realise that they weren’t the urban nightmare they’ve be portrayed as. They’re filled with people, just like you and me, living the best way that they can. Slums, while unjustifiable in many ways, are a product of the people. They’re a vibrant display of communities that are engaged, resourceful, and creative.

Visiting the slums made me realise how complex the issue really is. Before visiting, my only knowledge about slums was based on what I saw in the media or Slumdog Millionaire. In reality, the slums are neighbourhoods - ones that haven’t been given the attention, money, or time to prosper.

I'm glad that mobile technology allowed me to capture these moments. Before starting my travels, I was worried that I should have brought a better camera. Realistically, your phone is the greatest gadget.

photography

About the Creator

Hexe News

For witchy women by witchy women

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Hexe News Written by Hexe News

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.