The Swamp logo

Justice for George Floyd: Voices From a Smaller Town

My experience in a peaceful protest.

By Shamar MPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Taking a knee for George Floyd.

Today I made history. I travelled to the town of Milton Keynes on 6th June 2020 to make my voice heard in a Black Lives Matter peaceful protest. These protests have been taking place all over the world from 25th May 2020 when a black American man, George Floyd, was unlawfully killed by a white police officer in the United States. This is one of THOUSANDS of deaths and serious incidents caused by police brutality all over the world and quite frankly, black people have had enough.

This was also my first ever protest, so I was fairly nervous especially after watching videos and hearing stories on social media. Back in 2019, I was more than tempted to join the Extinction Rebellion protests but decided it's best I sit and home and watch. However, this time I decided that every single person of colour needed to be outside and active to make our voices collectively heard in order to make a change.

The one question I was faced with multiple times when I announced I was going to protest was; "Are you not scared about coronavirus?" Well, yes because I do not want to catch it if I have not caught it already but then also no. No because racism, inequality and discrimination is in itself a pandemic which black people have been living amongst for HUNDREDS of years. Both this racist pandemic and coronavirus are easily spread and cause many lives to be lost, so what is stopping me?

Due to Milton Keynes not being a big nor overally important town, I did not expect many to people turn up. Thankfully, I was wrong. When I parked my car outside the very much closed and beaten-down Toys R Us store (as a former employee it was a very sad sight) there were people walking in groups of two's, three's, four's with placards and wearing masks, towards the Station Square. When I arrived at Station Square, there were a few hundred people (I reckon approximately 300-400). I can confirm masks were mandatory and social distancing measures were followed as close as possible by having X's drawn on the floor. Wardens were also walking around making sure all was kept in order, which it was.

The entire protest lasted around half an hour with 15 minutes of solid chanting; "Say his name, George Floyd!", "No justice, no peace!", "Black Lives Matter'", and 20 minutes of speeches. Not long after the end, a few children showeed up and let off three flares. A pink one, a blue one and a purple one. What crossed my mind here is; where were these children able to purchase flares from? Many were not impressed that the protest was so short but due to the current circumstances of coronavirus that had to be the case. But it didn't take long for that to change.

We marched. It was a standing protest but a few boys took centre stage and voiced that "All we have done here is say a few words and upload photos and videos on Snapchat, we need to do more! Let's march!" So we marched. From station square to the city centre, to the council and around many blocks. I personally marched for around half an hour till the rain started to come down fairly heavy.

The 6th June 2020 was an extremely empowering day for me. A day where you could really feel the energy and seriousness amongst you. I realise that many other town and cities were holding peaceful protests to (e.g. Luton and Watford) so I do not doubt that others were emotionally rocked, englightened and excited.

I do not know how many more protests I must join until there is a solid change in the United Kingdom. I do not know how many George Floyd cases there have been and I do not doubt there will be again. I do not doubt that there are still many ignorant and pointless racists within the United Kingdom. But what I do know is that WE WILL NOT BE SILENCED.

activism
Like

About the Creator

Shamar M

26. UK Based. Moans about everything (but in a fun way).

Follow me on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.