The Swamp logo

Downtown Clearwater Library is a controversy

Local News from a Pinellas County resident

By Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer NormanPublished 7 days ago 4 min read
This is how I feel when millionares talk about money

I've resided in Clearwater since 2010. I've worked at many places that no longer exist here like the Steak n Shake on U.S. 19 and the little telemarketing office that once employed me near Ulmerton and 66th. I've also worked for places that still do exist like Postcardmania and Clearwater Marine Aquarium. Gandy Beach (the way it was) is gone, transformed into a mangrove preserve. Our Pinellas County public libraries are either improving or vanishing. The Clearwater officials (regarding the downtown library) decided to go with improvements, but the million dollar ampitheater project came with much controversy including the resignation of a mayor.

Big city projects take big money and there will always be controversy around subjects like that. When the city officials of St. Petersburg decided to support the Rays Stadium or build a new pier downtown, those concerned with taxes and the budget went up in arms. You can't blame concerned citizens. They want to know why taxes are going up. They want to have a say in how their money is spent in the city they live in.

The ampitheater project of Downtown Clearwater is a massive improvement to what already was an amazing library. My two favorite libraries in Pinellas County are Largo and Downtown Clearwater. I've been to many libraries (here in Pinellas and elsewhere) and those two are the best I've seen. They have everything to make a library thrive and good for the public. They have a space used for a shoppe, where the library can sell books and bricabrac to raise funds. They have an area for a snack shoppe to feed their patrons and again raise funds. They have different levels to categorize sections easily. And they have excellent computer labs which is important for those who need internet assistance or basic print jobs accomplished. They also have private meeting rooms which can be reserved for a variety of meetings. They both have what it takes to be loved, enjoyed, and successful. However, Largo library seemed to be fairing better than Downtown Clearwater. Perhaps it was all location, but I don't think that's the only reason.

Though they both have all the basics needed to be great, Largo Library is already in thriving mode. Their snack and book shoppe are always visited with buying patrons. Not so at the Downtown Clearwater Library. The book shoppe is pathetic and usually empty and the snack shoppe isn't up and running at this time. Why? Is it because the park by the water isn't as nice as Central Park? Is it because The Capital Theater only books famous or well-known artists instead of providing opportunities for local performers like the Central Park Performing Arts Center? Is it because of prices? I think all of these details add to the reasons.

I must have not been alone in thinking that, hence someone came up with the idea for a million dollar ampitheater addition to the Downtown Clearwater library. Why build that so close to The Capital Theater? Won't they be in direct competition? Like Walgreens and CVS right across the street from each other? Is that silly or intelligent? I can not predict the future for either, but I read in the local newspapers that a mayor left his job over the budget that it cost to install the ampitheater. Now that's news. You don't hear often that a politician actually quit because he was so convicted in his belief that the money was being spent ineffectively. So if property tax goes up around here, or if rent and mortgages are not making sense to the economy, perhaps you understand why that mayor quit. One has to think and ask, what's more important? Making the downtown area a success or making the residents and homeowners and taxpayers happy with a trustworthy budget and council? Again, I don't know. I'm a resident who wonders what it all will mean for the future residents.

On a personal note, I will say that I was not well-received when I tried to volunteer at the Downtown Clearwater Libary. The book shoppe manager asked if I was a "registered" volunteer and though I had gone online to request that I had never received any answer so I could not confirm. It was as if she was upset that I had some fresh ideas to bring to the shoppe. It was as if she thought I was going to take her "position" as the book shoppe head honcho away. I was just bored and I like the library a lot. I want to run my own gift shoppe, not spend my time giving away my stuff for the library. I was insulted.

Also when I suggested that they offer towels at the front door for the wet people coming in, they got crunchy with me. They said they didn't like that idea and didn't want to hear my reasons for suggesting it such as their slick floors that could cause falling hazards.

It's okay. Jesus already taught me. Don't cast your pearls before swine.

women in politicsreviewpoliticsopinionlegislationfinanceeducationcorruptioncontroversiesactivism

About the Creator

Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer Norman

Published Writer and Artist.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer NormanWritten by Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer Norman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.