The Swamp logo

The Legal System is Wrong

Lawyers are worthless and I'll tell you why

By Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer NormanPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
How I feel after talking to an attorney

In April, I was depressed. Not only did I turn 53 years old after a divorce from a 12 year marriage, I was broke, overweight, jobless, on a poor disability check, and lonely as hell. I was desperate for attention. I wasn't on any medication and whether I was hearing the voices (that often talk with me especially when no one else is around) or I wasn't hearing them, I was so depressed I was crying more often than is normal for me. I felt trapped and like the whole world had abandoned me. I reached out to the suicide hotline (988) and when I said some ridiculous overdramatic nonsense, they called the police. The police then baker-acted me and I was hospitalized for two weeks. Do you think that cured my depression? No. It made things even worse.

While I was in the hospital I was on Risperidone, 4 mg. I was doing alright, but I was suffering from very harsh knee pain which may or may not be related to my mental health issues. Upon the last few days of my stay there, they had added some other drug to my Risperidone (I think that was the Atorvastatin), but I was not sure what it was for while I was taking it. When I got released they had me purchase my prescriptions for about $15 and it had 3 bottles with directions on how to take the medication on the labels. The three medications they had prescribed were as follows: Risperidone, 8mg. Atorvastatin, 20 mg. Divalproex, 1000 mg. I am a diagnosed Bipolar with Schizo-Effective disorder. I have been on Risperidone before without issues, but the best medication for me is Abilify, also known as Aripiprozole. It was when I was taking Abilify that the therapists knew I was at my best, most "normal" behavior.

The Atorvastatin is not a mental health drug. It is used to reduce cholesterol and I was only to take one pill of 20 mg at night before bedtime. I had been eating too much at the hospital, had gained almost 15 pounds in two weeks. A study has been linked to Atorvastatin to prove that people tend to eat more and gain weight because of that while taking that drug. While my knees were already in much pain due to worn down cartilage, the extra 15 pounds of body weight were not helping to reduce that pain.

Divalproex sodium is used to treat certain types of seizures (epilepsy). This medicine is an anticonvulsant that works in the brain tissue to stop seizures. Divalproex sodium is also used to treat the manic phase of bipolar disorder (manic-depressive illness) and helps prevent migraine headaches. (per Google, May 1, 2024). Why would they prescribe 1000 milligrams of Divalproex as compared to 8 milligrams of Risperidone? Something weird about that, don't you think?

I do not suffer from epilepsy, but upon following their prescription I began to convulse and shake violently as if I did have seizures. Every pain I already was feeling was mutliplied by at least ten and I was screaming and crying every day in both emotional and physical pain. And those around me who were trying to help, had no idea that it was all because I was prescribed the wrong "medication".

I have spoken to three different law firms who claim to handle medical malpractice or bodily injury suits. Not one of the three I spoke with agreed to help me seek justice for this injury. Yes, they (the so-called doctors with the power to heal or kill) hurt me. And no one cares. This legal system is majorly flawed. The ambulance chasers (aka attorneys who handle bodily injury cases) don't care about you. They just like a nice easy formula case to make some money on in your name. You don't need them. Their just hoity toity waste your time types in suits and they don't really care about justice or your pain and suffering. If they don't see that I have a case of "attempted murder" as that hospital tried to kill me by poisoning me with the wrong drug, then how can I trust the legal system? If they don't see that those side effects were not only excruciatingly painful to deal with for a week with no doctor to call, and only my own friends and instincts to lean on while I was being tortured, then they are completely useless, worthless, and ineffectual at what they claim to do for their profession.

supreme courttradecorruptioncontroversies

About the Creator

Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer Norman

Published Writer and Artist.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer NormanWritten by Shanon Marie Clare Angermeyer Norman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.