The Swamp logo

Dear Donald

Raven S.

By Raven SpoorPublished 7 years ago 2 min read

Dear President Trump,

I do not think that you deserve this title. I do not respect you. But I do respect the title and the position, so therefore President Trump will be how I refer to you.

Do not misunderstand me. I did not vote for you. Nor did any of my friends and family. How can a person vote for someone who has no respect for his fellow man? How can a person vote for someone who is so filled with hate that he alienates all but the top 1%? We have had some horrible Presidents in the history of the United States, but, in my humble opinion, none have been so bigoted as you.

We speak every day of the horrors that happened during the Holocaust. We speak of how horrible Adolf Hitler was. And yet here you are, acting almost exactly the same way. No Mexicans, no disabled, no women, no LGBTQ+ (and I'm sure you don't even know what that means), you don't give a crap about your veterans, nobody that is different from you... which is basically everyone.

I do not know a single person who is not affected by your hate. Everyone is either on your list or knows someone on your list. My sister is disabled, my father is a veteran, my mother is an activist, and I am bisexual. My whole family is on the wrong side of your hate. All of my friends are as well. And everyone I know that is not directly affected by your hate knows someone who is.

I do not wish ill will on anyone. I do not care how horrible a person one is, anybody can be saved. Any mistake can be rectified. But your years of bigotry and hate make it hard to feel the same way about you.

There are few people I hate in this world. My birth parents are probably about it. But you make the top of that list. I do not believe that you have the right to sit in this position. I will not support your hate. I will fight for everyone's rights, even if it goes against my own beliefs, because, unlike you, I know that it is not about me. It never will be. Every person deserves their rights and it is not yours to take them away.

I sincerely hope you come to your senses. But I fear that by the time you do, it will be much too late.

Sincerely,

A Scared and Angry Citizen

politicspresidenttrumpvotingpoliticians

About the Creator

Raven Spoor

I am a young author . . . or wanna-be author. I have been told I'm fairly good I just haven't ever been published. I'm hoping this will help me turn that around.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Raven SpoorWritten by Raven Spoor

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.