The Swamp logo

Dads, daughters, and derringers

Or D^3, if you will

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

24JAN2021; 0705, SUN

"If I could rule the world, everyone would have a gun/In the ghetto of course, when giddy-upping on their horse..."- Wyclef Jean of The Fugees back in '96. Switching gears from the debate on the merits of "free money", I'm all but immediately reminded of the adage, "Free men own firearms; not slaves."

Obviously free men can own just about anything that their money will allow them to purchase, rent, or lease; even slaves in some parts of the world. However, the common denominator a decent majority of the time is firearms, if you will.

As I'm sure that you know, Brother Man, "The Great Equalizer" (guns) have been on the scene for quite some time. Also, I'm confident that the irony isn't lost on you, in respect to the newest president who admittedly wants to ban ARs and AKs, meanwhile surrounding himself with "enough [of them] to start [a] world war," as so eloquently rapped by Pusha T back in '06.

Speaking of which tho, I find it terribly ironic that "King Push" supposedly goes nowhere without his CCW (Carrying a Concealed Weapon) permit, and yet still had the nerve to support "Crooked ['What-difference-does-it-make' K]illary" over Drumpf. Like, what the heck, guy?

Yes, Drumpf arguably could have done more to secure our gun rights. However, he definitely didn't have a super majority to aid him as "Obomination" almost did.

Seriously tho, how lucky were we to so narrowly dodge Barack's allegedly dead bent intent of completely upending the Second Amendment? And as if the pan wasn't hot enough, the nation just essentially decided to jump straight into the fire.

In a way, I believe that we more or less deserve the relative hell that we're about to bring upon ourselves thru "Sleepy Joe" and his Veep. At the same time, I can't help but wonder where we might be as a nation had the honorable, former congressman and Vet, that we both love so much, Dr. Ron Paul, M.D., not been blackballed so by the "lame stream" media during his presidential bids.

Idle daydreaming and relatively squandered utopia notwithstanding, we're debatably in for a bumpy ride. I'm wondering if I'll be able to teach my little Lillian Grace and her older sister, Kay Slay that "some Glocks identify as 'rape whistles'" (goodness gracious, I hate that term!), or whether they'll only learn about guns in their largely misleading history books like in Japan, Australia, and the United Kingdom.

Obviously there's a lot that could go wrong with President Joe "I'm-coming-for-your-AR-15s" Biden. However, I really and truly want to believe that somehow everything can go unfathomably well for true patriots and freedom loving citizens of the world.

Accuse me of rocking rose colored specs if you will, but supposedly, matters often get worse before they get better. I might could be preaching to the choir again here, tho, I'm relatively confident that we simply cannot hope and pray for a revival of wholesome love for the country to come back into style again.

We are pretty much required to will it into existence, make actionable plans, and meander thru the muck of our fellow countrymen who are by and large willfully ignorant. There can be little to no doubt that there is no other way, and that as The Mandalorian, as well as as his cohorts (and his stans) would say, "This is the way."

That last reference put me at about 556 words and I can't help but find myself regretting that so many Americans, and especially most Blacks, will feasibly never know the joy of burning thru half a can of 5.56mm NATO (that's M4 carbine, M16 rifle, and/or M249 [without the links] SAW [Squad Automatic Weapon] ammo) just on familiarization and/or practicing CQC (Close Quarters Combat) like I did a few times or so back when I was in. Also random: I saw a fellow girl dad in the Dads With Daughters fbook group post his 8 year old precious princess at the range "licking shots" for the first time yesterday, and felt overcome with envy seeing as my Little Ones are a ways away from such jubilee, as it is by and by.

Speaking of which tho, my daughters need some kerosene and I need to go make some more money so that I can buy the 1966 Margaret Walker classic "Jubilee". Peace for now, my brother.

Take the high road,

Darrius Unity

opinion
1

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.