The Swamp logo

America falling into Civil War

Snake oil salesmen and humor, which is worse?

By harry hoggPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
America falling into Civil War
Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

When Trump is talking, I can feel my I.Q. dropping rapidly, like a thermometer placed in a freezer. When it has dropped sufficiently, about a minute into the Big Lie, I fall into a coma. I’m not suggesting that Trump is boring, no, no, it’s not that simple. His sincerity is a little…what shall I say… off?

Here’s an admission. I have this fantasy where I’m talking politics with Mika Brzezinski, and we’re sharing Milano cookies. It’s interesting, because funny enough my sex drive is a bit whacky. Mika doesn’t turn me on, the Milano cookies do. A year ago it was Fig Newtons. I don’t know what it is, I mean, well it might be age related.

Don’t you think having that fantasy about Mika and the Milano cookies is weird? Why am I not having a fantasy about a woman with a pin in her tongue giving me a blowjob?

What is it about Milano cookies that makes such an act seem unbearably boring? Come to think of it, why doesn’t Jenny have a pin through her tongue. I’ll have one, a nail, I’m sure, one that goes through the front of my head and out the back after reading this. I’m just being, you know, honest.

I don’t know how I got from laughing at Trump to eating Milano cookies with Mika. I think, if I’m interpreting Trump Jnr., on Twitter, that his father is considering a gender change, having the ambition to become the first female president of the United States. I prefer to think he just wants his pussy grabbed. Clearly no one has any interest in his big orange carrot.

I saw Melania at the launderette. She was washing her smalls. I didn’t see any harm in asking her out for a kebab and a glass of wine. I loved her accent. She told me she doesn’t go out with dem people. I looked around but for the life of me I couldn’t see who dem people were. Right, it must be clear to you I’m now in a creative coma. What are the odds, though? Melania washing her smalls. I saw the coat. She was so pissed the painted words hadn’t washed out. Stained for life. I Really Don’t Care, Do, U?

Is this what I’ve come to, as bad as all the next, making fun of people whose motivation is to bring about unrest and authoritarianism. It’s the saddest thing I’ve known to watch a country falling. The cult of persuasion, the poisonous snake oil of power. Trump is a symptom of a country once trying to be the best it can be, and now, at the hurdle of division, not honoring its Constitution. America was built on dreams, not lies, not small minds.

Lies flying Truth is dying America lost Who bears the cost?

Sincerity is lacking Democracy cracking Red, white, and blue What does it mean to you?

Trust is sadly shaken What side will you be taking? Two parties cannot fight One says black one says white

We turn away and lock the door To keep out fears of Civil War Please take off your boxing gloves Can we really not share some love?

****************

My impulse is to believe America will survive this lunacy, the snake oil salesman, the Trumplicans, and return to honest debate. The Democrats have been given a plank to walk, and are halfway to a dumping already. If the Democrats reach the end of the plank, and fall. There will be civil war between the easily led, and the never learn their lesson types.

opinion

About the Creator

harry hogg

My life began beneath a shrub on a roundabout in Gants Hill, Essex, U.K. (No, I’m not Moses!) I was found by a young couple leaving the Odeon cinema having spent their evening watching a Spencer Tracy movie.

The rest, as they say, is history

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    harry hoggWritten by harry hogg

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.