Styled logo

Thrifty Fashion

Those 1 in a Million Finds

By Calla LilyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Fashion is one of those majestic phenomenon's, its always evolving and somehow comes back full circle. Era's end up repeating themselves and parents look at their children with smiles and giggles saying things like;

"I never should have gotten rid of my Go-Go boots"

"Had I known you would be wearing high-waisted Levi's, I would have let you have mine"

I remember being in middle school - about grade 5/6. Bell bottoms were the in thing. The bigger the bell bottom the cooler the pant. This was also the age I got my first heeled boot. Pretty much a go-go boot, except they were velvet and not pleather. My Mom giggled at me constantly when we would shop. She would tell me how she used to wear the same items and show me the 'ways' backs in the day.

This phenomenon happens to be the very reason why I love thrifting. You can sift through the era's, mixing and matching your hearts desire. Not to mention that most every piece you purchase, is completely and utterly unique. None of this pop culture, mass produced style that is going to change next week.

You can find some real gems if you spend the time and energy on looking through every single item. Some of my past finds include;

1) A brand new tags on sport jacket made by Dolce and Gabbana

2) A mint condition 1980’s Joseph Ribkoff Big Bird Yellow Dress Suit.

Just to name a few. I have to admit, my thrift shopping has me almost at ’addict’ status. I’ll go in, spend $80 with no remorse, and ha,f the time I’ll end up donating what I just bought. Greedy with new items, and new fashions. It took me a while to learn how to master the art of shopping. It’s not about how much you buy, but what you buy. In my coming years I have discovered that while it is good to stay on top of the latest fashion trends, if you follow only what ‘they’ say, you would be purchasing new items constantly to keep up.

First of all to consider, time. Is the piece going to stand the test of time? My Joseph Ribkoff dress suit from the 80’s didn’t last long in my wardrobe. It was a beautiful suit and a stunning design for it’s era, but definitely not timeless. However, my D&G sport jacket, I have had that for 7 years now and I still wear outfits it‘s perfect for. Second to consider, color. Is the palet a fleeting trend? Again,those bright neons in the 80’s have their place, but warm neutrals go a lot farther in the fasion world. Lastly, price. Is the asking price for what you are buying, worth it? My D&G jacket was $10 And I still wear it. My Joseph Ribkoff was $25 and it has gone elsewhere.

Then, there are those pieces that are a one in a million. Those jaw droppers “I cannot believe I got this at a thrift store” items. You snatch those up and run to the till just to have them as part of your collection. When you wear them, as you enter the room, everyone notices what you are wearing. This brings me to my two thrift store finds that top all others. I may not wear these pieces often, when they come out they make a statement.

Made by Moon in Vietnam

This piece was actually in a consignment store. When I first laid eyes on it,I had no clue why someone would ever let this one go. Priced at $100, I will admit that it is my most expensive second hand piece, and my most treasured. A floor length gown that zips up in the back. The upper chest is a black mesh behind all the sequens and a rather high slit on the right side For that sex appeal. All sequens and beads in places, no marks on the velvet. Best of all, it fits like a glove. This isn’t a piece a male would comment “I like your dress” this is a piece when the man reacts with a “Wow, you look stunning”. Any time I have work this dress it has been a Jaw dropper.

This next piece I am about to show you is a show stopper. What I love most about this piece is it was made here in my home country Canada. It also is inspired from one of the most famous fashion icons in history, Jackie Kennedy. The 50’s and 60’s have always been my favorite era for style and I had always said I would love a Jackie Kennedy coat. My favorite outfit of hers was the pink wool suit she wore on Valentines day in 1961.

My favorite Jackie Kennedy Outfit

My Thrift store Jackie Kennedy Coat

The moment I saw this jacket, my eyes lit up. Perfect mint condition to the point where the extra buttons were still on the tag inside. This one I found at Value Village for $20! How could someone let this go? Why would someone let this go? 100% wool, Made in Canada by La Moda. This is and will forever be my Jackie Kennedy coat.

These are two items that will most certainly go full circle. If stored and maintained properly, even my children will be able to enjoy them. They are timeless, unique, and the price was right. Fashion doesn’t have to be expensive, it doesn’t have to be the latest and greatest either. Timeless items in a color and style that go full circle is all it takes.

models and influencers
Like

About the Creator

Calla Lily

A small town mountain girl who hasn't written in years. Stumbled upon this online community and has since decided to spark that creative writer in herself. The joys of imagination is what keeps us youthful <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.