Styled logo

The Essence of Contrast

Paper, Scissors, Rock

By Iman BassPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

To start, my name is Iman Bass and I have been sewing for two years now. I started sewing because I always had a dream to sew my own clothing. It did not come easy to me because I was not use to paying so much attention to such little details. The details matter. My creations through sewing are a direct reflection of my feelings, thoughts, and mental depositions at that moment. I often think of how the world would look from a higher stance. Higher, as a direct term, means for me to inquisitively see objects and materials as a tool of expression versus a need. To further digest, when I am sewing, I love to think of creative designs that I have never saw before. Designs that can assist with conveying how I am feeling and what I can create to help myself or someone else develop into their true identity. Once the outfit or article of clothing becomes an idea or sketch, I then move forward with bringing it into reality.

Creativity is the way I set myself apart from others. I do not follow societal standards on what a design ‘should’ look like. Within my creative process, I would like to explain the look in which I have submitted for this challenge. The brown silhouette is made to be form fitting. However, it should also flow with the depths of the wind if one was to, let’s say, go to the beach. The brown represents a plight for freedom. True freedom for young girls that can relate to me in all aspects. That could be in terms of my life story or the color of my skin. When I created this design, I also came to the realization that the color brown, also, signified my strength as an African American woman defying society’s standards. But fashion is also freedom. As I create my designs, I love to intrigue the viewer. That is in order to see what others can interpret the true meaning of my specially constructed garments to be.

Furthermore, the color teal was selected from my color palette of fabrics for a special reason. It was meant to be seen. The focus is on the teal. This specific piece of fabric, which is polyester, and color scheme was chosen because, as you can see, on top of the brown silhouette, it would automatically catch one’s attention. Teal, as an offspring of the color green, represented replenishment for me. A replenishment of life and who I am. To be in a world where you can be yourself without overly consuming the praise or the criticism. I do not choose to live in the darkness of the past, so the vibration that the color gave off was happiness, courage, and the representation of a precious jewel. Even though the colors are at a contrast, it comes together to form an emotion of the passion I felt while creating this piece.

To conclude, sewing and fashion are considered to be a unison in my world. Cutting the straightest line, tapering every raw edge, and designing the most intricate pieces are the key characteristics that help me develop my artistry in a skillful way. Sewing is my favorite activity to do in my free time and I believe it will become my lifelong profession. Perfection is literally non-existent and the furthest thing in my mind while doing it. To add, having the right tools to construct my garments are vital. The right pair of scissors, a rotary cutter, my Apple Pencil and iPad to design, and most importantly, my sewing machine are the most intricate, yet simple, tools I need to successfully bring my sketches, outlines, and/or artist impressions into existence.

Thank you Vocal + and Friskars for this amazing opportunity.

designers
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.