Styled logo

I’m Never in Fashion

Subtle Rebellion against Trends

By Diana HayesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Don’t ask me what I’m wearing. It’s not designer friendly and I didn’t run out to get my look because someone else is sporting it. My favorite fashion trend is my own personal style. I prefer going against the weave of the fashion fabric. I don’t rely on trends. I simply ignore fashion magazines. I’m a fashion rebel and I hide in a renegade fashion closet. I’m not the only one. We’re the gals and guys thrift shopping for kicks and on the hunt for something that fits well rather than fits in.

I’ve been told I dress extremely well. I believe that’s true when I put in an effort. I’m a sucker for wide leg trouser jeans and I won’t be giving up my penchant for fancy romanticized vintage blouses and fedoras any time soon. I like to channel a great Charlie’s Angels fashion episode and I adore a man who isn’t beyond a decked out GQ Remington Steele style.

I decided the fashion trend I won’t ever give up consists of me not looking like everyone else. I’m quite partial to this rebellion. I devised this plan in my youth when I began noticing what clothes flattered me. I paid attention to the apparel I purchased and built a wardrobe around personal expression not fads. I believe cultivating your own flair is absolute elegance. Garments are about fabric, cut, style and color. They should look and feel good on you. My formula works to my advantage, as people inquire where I shop.

I was exposed to this golden voguish rule of fashion working for a high end retail store during my youth. Silks, linens and wool were brimming on every shelf and rack. It was an easy sell and you can’t find that quality fabric today. The clothing was classic and the selections were made to combine with ease. I relied on this method of fluid classy dressing to sell thousands of dollars per customer on occasion. If only I worked on commission back then. Sigh. However, the lessons outweighed money. They taught me a lot and so did the random customer working outside the fashion box who wanted to add a scarf, a pop of color or a fantastic pin to tie a look together.

Based on my experience, I don’t waste my time having other people tell me how to dress. Body con dress? No. Baggy jeans? No. Low slung jeans? No. Skinny pants? No. Trending colors and patterns? No. Seriously, I appreciate the time and effort someone else takes telling me how to look and what to purchase but that’s their opinion. Not mine.

You’ll find my closet filled with items I treasure, things I actually want to wear. My style is refined, classic and feminine. I won’t give it up. I would rather invest in a piece that makes me noticeable in a room then imitate someone else. I’m not into competition. I’m not trying to be someone I’m not and I simply won’t wear colors that don’t flatter me.

I’m not vain in this respect. In fact, I admire the individuals that take fashion trends seriously. They up their game. They know what’s in style and they know how to work it. If that’s your thing then I applaud you. I won’t copy. Most likely, you wear it way better than me.

I’m addicted to trying new things and letting them go when they no longer flatter me. I have a nice collection of favorite me trends. I search for unique pieces by up-cycling and thrift shopping for a distinctive find. Gracing my hangers, you’ll find a gorgeous golden long Oriental themed jacket, vintage cropped elegant black bolero jacket for evening, suede fringe poncho; checkered hounds tooth cape, deep blue woven Irish hat and coat, wide leg light wash flared trouser jeans, linen blazers, tons of pretty frilly blouses, long feminine skirts and dresses. Even though I’ve never been there, I have an amazing collection of Hawaiian dresses. I adore bohemian skirts and sundresses, flannel shirts and turtle necks, wool jackets with suede patches and fabulous sunhats and fedoras. My clothes fit me, my mood and my daring spirit.

That’s my trend. Me. Every once in a while, I bend the rule but it stops with shoulder pads. Seriously, if those make a comeback, I hope we all throw in the fashionista towel and forge a fashion revolt that spearheads a glorious glamour comeback.

trends
Like

About the Creator

Diana Hayes

Thank you for reading. A ❤️is free. Tips are appreciated. From thoughts to words, I hope to inspire you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.