Styled logo

How social media can influence you

Is purchasing through social media a good thing or can it be a waste of money?

By Talara NolanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
How social media can influence you
Photo by Merakist on Unsplash

Within the last year purchasing online has exploded due to the pandemic all over the world. It is easy to be influence by what you see and to go into a black hole where you spend too much on things that you don't need. However, it can also be a great thing if you do it correctly.

I have been purchasing most of the things I get online for a while. I don't like the crowds that can be in store and shopping malls. So for me, I love the peacefulness of purchasing online where I can feel no stress to rush or to talk to people. Of course, more than a few times I went into the black hole of purchasing things without much thinking and then when they arrive release that I got too much stuff. Before the pandemic most people who didn't shop online would ask questions, be confused how I could do that and wonder how I got the right size of things. Over time, I have found a system that works for me.

The great thing about social media is that you can use it to help you figure out what is really worth the money. That is how I got started finding brands that I could trust. When purchasing online finding brands that you believe in and that you love is so important. Shortly after I had my daughter, of course I had gained some weight. I needed some clothes, especially workout clothes, but I was finding it hard to find clothes that went into bigger sizes that I liked. I was big, but wasn't totally in plus sizes at that point, so it was hard to find clothes. Being home with my daughter a lot I was on my phone all the time. I watched a lot of YouTube and started going into the black hole that is social media. I started watching some fitness people on YouTube and following them on social media. They would review different online brands or would show their own lines if they had them. If you find an honest person they can give you some great suggestions on sizing. The hardest thing to do is to get your correct size. And the great thing I love about social media is that they can point you in the direction to know what size you should get for yourself.

What you don't want to do is feel like you need to get all the things from all the brands that is coming out there? It is so very easy, especially when you are purchasing online, to get way too much stuff. I would find myself feeling pressure to get things from every brand I liked. When you see a lot of people getting a lot of things it's easy to feel left out because you didn't get anything. Don't let yourself fall into the trap. Make sure to have a budget, know what that is and don't let yourself go over. If you know that you like getting clothes, for example, put money aside for a clothing budget. When you are used to getting a lot of things and are trying to spend less money, don't just cut yourself off. You won't be able to stick to you. Make a budget and make sure that you stick to that budget.

The most helpful thing that you can do is to put things into your cart and leave it there for 24 hours. Then go back and see how much you really want or need. You may be surprised how much you put back. It lets you really think about the item and consider if you really want to get it. And really think and consider how much you need it. If it's a black shirt, look at your clothes and see what you have. If you already have 4 black shirts just like that one, then maybe you don't need to get that one.

Don't feel pressure to get every new item coming out. There will always be a new release, so if you miss one don't worry there will be another one around the corner.

Make sure that you find companies you believe in and that you stand for the same thing that you stand for. Because there are so many companies that are only online or going to online only it can be overwhelming at all of them. For me, it's important that I support companies that have large sizes for example. Even though I'm not in a large size anymore, I know how hard it can be for people to find great clothes in a large size. Just because someone is larger doesn't mean they shouldn't be able to get high quality clothes. So when I find another company I look at the size run they have available. If they only go up to size 12 for example, that is not the company that I want to support.

Make sure that you look at their size run and fabric guides. If it is a stretchier fabric, and you are between sizes than you can know to size down. If you are still unsure, most online companies have influencers that do haul's and give sizing suggestions. Make sure it's someone that you trust and that is honest. Just because they are sponsored by the company doesn't mean they will tell you everything is great. Different items work better for different body types, and it's important to know that.

I hope that this has helped you. I believe in shopping online so much. You can find unique things that you can't find in store sometimes. Especially if you live in an area that doesn't have a lot of stores you like, which can be fairly often. You just have to know how to do it. It can take some investigation before your first purchase to figure things out correctly. However, once you figure it out then it will make your shopping and your online shopping so much easier.

I hope that this has helped. Remember don't get sucked into the black hole, and be smart.

- T

shopping
1

About the Creator

Talara Nolan

I am a single parent to a 4 year old girl and live with her in Canada. I love working out and have lost over 45 lbs over time. I would love to share what I have learned and all the things that have worked for me over time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.