Styled logo

Give Me Some Rose’s

The Air Jordan of My Time

By Michael J. HarrisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Buy A Pair Today @ https://www.amazon.com/Adidas-D-Rose-Alternative-Colorway-Black/dp/B009M9OM7M

Jordan’s have been around longer than my life. These shoes are bigger than life.

Growing up, if you had Jordan’s on the playground, people assumed you had dog mentality and was about to drop 40 every night.

What impresses me is how Jordan took the league and Nike by force. He was Nike’s first real partner and it was a gamble.

They knew he was a freak of nature athlete, but it was a gamble. A player can have a career ending injury, have a great year and fall off.

From my years of watching basketball, player’s peaks start around 28-29. After that they have about a 5-6 year stretch to make a championship push.

However, you have your players that are rare and can push the peak to 39-40. Players like LeBron, Kobe, Chris Paul, and so forth. For Dwayne Wade, he could have gone longer but he had severe injuries and after getting his meniscus. When that happened, The Flash wasn’t the same.

Above all the injuries that happened, one that hits home is the hometown hero of Chicago, Derrick Rose. I’m glad he is still playing, but still, it’s not the same.

I remember the day he got injured. It was a day time playoff game against the Philadelphia 76ers. This was around some of Andre Iguadala’s last years with the team and I believe Louis Williams was on the team as well.

Going to this workshop class, I got a text from one of my friends. Derrick Rose got injured. They were up in the game and were on the verge of winning the series. To be honest, I do not remember if they won the series or not.

Still remember the video of seeing Rose drive to the lane and pull up and came back down. Holding his left leg as if a brick just fell on it. My heart dropped. Our hero fell down.

Below is the video, viewer's discretion advised!!

All the dunks, the highlights, the flashy players seemed like a memory now. To this day I still where the Rose MVP shirt I got from Walmart in 2011 my freshman year of college.

I did not get a chance to truly see Jordan play because I was born in 92’ and was a child for most of the games. I remember the Wizards season and other than that I got highlights and ‘The Last Dance’ documentary.

But with Rose, it felt like I grew up with him. When I found out about him, my cousin’s and older brother put me on. Bowling one night while in seventh grade and he was a junior in high school. My eyes were fixed to the screen watching him ball out for the powerhouse Simeon Wolverines basketball team. You might know him from the league, but watching him play in high school made him a hero to many of us.

Back to the Jordan’s, his shoe matches his game. He took everything personal and took no prisoners. He was a dog then and is the same now. Revolutionizing a new wave of basketball.

Where do you think Rose got his game from? His style, his explosiveness. This man grew up in Englewood, Chicago doing the same thing Jordan did in the NBA. He balled out and made his name now.

Jordan’s are a great shoe, but give me some Rose’s. He was the player I seen playing for the Bulls and I was able to witness it. He is about 6’3-6’4 and at the time about 195 pounds. I guard that played as if he was a 6’8 LeBron.

Let the record be now, pre injury Rose was the top point guard in the league. Steph, CP3, Kyrie, Russ, so forth are good but come on when you see the Rose highlights, they were not doing that.

He played as if he was on the blacktop. Top speed, defense spectacular, and this man would dunk it on you and leave you sitting on the ground like he did TWICE to Andre Miller when he first entered the league.

Give me some Rose’s and give this man Rose, some Roses while we still can. He changed his game around and is still dropping numbers. Don’t clown if you not familiar with the tape.

footwear

About the Creator

Michael J. Harris

I'm a young inspiring author and youth leader. I hope that through my YouTube and my writings that I can inspire the youth to both do and be more. Building on a ministry of stepping into the youth lives and allowing them to be themselves.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michael J. HarrisWritten by Michael J. Harris

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.