Styled logo

Dressed to Impress

It’s a fashion statement and I got a “passion for fashion”.

By Keanna Barry Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
(Picture credit to google/tumblr)

My passion for fashion burns inside of me. Although I’m weak in the areas of owning my own style I have quite the few ideas of things I’d love to wear, have others envy enough to follow my original yet not completely original trends, and maybe even design someday. As a child I had wanted to be a fashion designer due to the show ‘That’s so Raven’ due to Raven Symone’s character’s alter attitude of wanting to be a clothing designer and that brought me to my own conclusion of wanting to do the same. Things have certainly changed over time and I’d rather much be a world peace or human rights advocate I still sit here today wanting to impress not just the guy who my heart is set on to looking good for him but for myself to stare in the mirror and feel hot.

My outlook on this style is based on my own self recognition and makes me believe I can pull it off when I’m no longer rocking short curls. Or if it was possible for me to wear contacts so I wouldn’t look like a nerd who would be considered as trying too hard to fit in. Which is not how it is. Yet for those people that like badgering others over stupid things I feel insecure.

The first look:

The second look:

The third look:

The fourth look:

The fifth look:

The sixth look:

The seventh look:

The eighth look:

The ninth look:

The tenth look:

These looks are inspired by grunge aesthetic and I’m all for it. Although my current style is not this I do have intentions for the future to be able to rock this style and inspire others to rock whatever style their hearts are set on. In my own life I feel less attractive with my short-natural curly/kinky hair that makes me do the thing where I get upset if my hair doesn’t match the clothes I’m wearing. I’m inspired to fulfill the look I desire by keeping my hair in boxed braids and dressing to impress. I dress to impress myself mainly and if my face was a little bit prettier then I’d be all for impressing the camera for a modelling agency.

These outfits aren’t exactly out of style but it’s a style that gets criticized by many especially ones who wouldn’t dare to express their fashions in simple ways but also hipster ways of starting a trend. These outfits are completely cute & sexy and makes me want to dabble in the area of being a grunge tumblr model. A “tumblr model” meaning that my pictures would be used as icons or for aesthetic purposes. Maybe I’d be proud of myself to be seen as a somebody worth being published or used for eye candy or anything like that... you know?

I have a bit of insecurities that trouble my heart from showing myself off. These insecurities are stemmed from being bullied and is no where near in allowing me to step out of that fear. I don’t want to fear trying my own style and then be told I’m trying too hard or that other people don’t like it. I’m not dressing for them!! I am dressing to impress me and only me. I’m a little bitter towards the concept of people insulting or giving negative opinions that I never asked for. Especially the comments they won’t say out loud. That’s the thing these comments that they keep to themselves creates an insecure reaction from myself from the unknown comment made towards me from them. Either you’ll feel confident or you’ll feel insecure from what those secret comments are. I mean the amount of times I’ve been left insecure because of my choice of hairstyle or choice of outfit is so far out of my concern of if others will approve because I’m not and am never exactly doing it for them. I just wish this “them” would keep there negative comments in silence and not badger me over things that do not concern them in any way!

women
Like

About the Creator

Keanna Barry

Give me a chance to help you with my own words?

My writing is intended to be read by you and the lessons being learned from what i am saying is all i pray and hope for to help improve quality of life for you, me, and like everyone else too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.