Styled logo

Are these "winter must haves" worth it?

Let's review an Instagram post!

By Simona RossoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Are these "winter must haves" worth it?
Photo by Tamas Pap on Unsplash

Some days ago, while scrolling on Instagram, I came across this post by aesthintagee:

Here, the creator shares her favorite winter clothes that are currently trending. However, if you want to have a trend-free, long-lasting, and more sustainable wardrobe, you have to be able to distinguish potential statement pieces from potentially impulsive buys.

In this post there are a bit of each of them, based on my opinion and my personal experience. Let's get into the details.

Leather Jackets

The first must-have mentioned in the post are leather jackets. Personally, if you want long lasting pieces, I would consider it more of a flop than a top, to be honest. I have worn leather jackets for years and, while I adore leather clothes in general, I have decided not to buy them anymore.

Indeed, all the faux leather jackets I have owned have always broke down at some point. It got so frustrating that it led me to the aforementioned decision. They look amazing, but it's just not worth it to buy an outerwear piece that you have to replace every two to five years or so.

Moreover, leather jackets are just not warm enough for certain winters, especially the European one. As I am writing this article, the temperature has reached -2°C, which makes it impossible to survive outside with a leather jacket.

However, if you can find high quality leather jackets that do not fall apart so quickly, and if winters are not as cold in your area, then it can be a good statement piece for winter!

Oversized Cardigans

Generally speaking, cardigans are always a big yes to me. They are warm and versatile - I myself wear certain cardigans unbuttoned and some without unbuttoning them, as sweaters - and are suitable for different levels of formality.

The key element here is the material. To be a winter must-have, however, they must keep you warm, obviously, but other than that, I agree with aesthintagee wholeheartedly.

Puffer Coat

I don't own a puffer coat myself, but it is certainly worth the hype. Puffer coats are warm and thick, just what you need to survive the coldest winters.

However, you must always make sure that you would wear it regardless of how trendy it is.

Rib Knitwear

I love rib knitwear, it's just a simple yet great way to make a basic top more interesting. However, rib tops are often very tight and skinny, which makes it impossible to wear them in winter without layering a sweater or a cardigan on it.

Rib knit cardigans and sweaters, on the other hand, are often made of synthetic fabric, which can stink if you sweat a lot. This might sound like a paradox but trust me, if you're a commuter and you take public transport regularly, you will sweat no matter how cold it is.

I would say "you do you" in this case. To me, tight rib tops are perfect to layer under warmer knitwear, but it is extremely situational. Generally speaking, this is another versatile type of clothes, similarly to cardigans.

Chunky Scarf

I have mixed feelings about these. Sure, they will keep you warm, but they can also turn out to be particularly impractical if you have a busy routine where you have to run from a building to another, like your average university student in Italy.

Here, it really depends on the proportion of your desired scarf and on your routine. If you can wear a long and thick scarf without any inconvenience in your daily commute, then it can be an awesome idea to keep you warmer!

Boots

I don't think there is much to say about boots. They are obviously one of the absolute must-haves for winter. The only factors you'll have to keep in mind are the right piece and the right level of comfiness. Once you have those, you're ready to go!

Loafers

This is probably the one I disagree with the most. While I like them, I just cannot imagine myself going out in the snow or with such low temperatures wearing them. I find them extremely cute and comfortable, but not suitable at all for winter.

Moreover, I also doubt their durability. Now, I own a pair of loafers and I am 100% sure that I like them and that I will wear them regardless of the trend, however such a specific piece of clothing could go out of trend quickly, which tells us that you should not buy them impulsively.

Generally speaking, none of these trends is wrong per se, it mostly depends on your taste and the temperature you have to endure in your daily life. If you liked her post, follow aesthintagee on Instagram, and do not leave hate comments. The purpose of this article is solely to give an opinion, not to spread toxicity.

If you liked my article, check out the other ones on my profile, and leave a comment if it sparked some thoughts!

trendstipsshoppingfootwear
Like

About the Creator

Simona Rosso

She/her. I write about pop culture, and I love dissecting every single medium I come across.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.