Styled logo

An Old Soul In Old Dresses

Bringing back the mid-century fashions

By ReneePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
A recent picture of me in my Unique Vintage Lamar Dress

I've always felt like an old soul.

Like I didn't fit in with my peers. Like I was born in the wrong era.

Some of that might be true, but I know a lot of people feel the same way.

Old souls unite!

The one thing that has realllllly made me stand out like a sore thumb is my wardrobe. No, I'm not trying to sound like a totally unique hipster whose style is unparalleled, I just have a penchant for clothing from the 1950s and 60s.

I think it all started when I first tried on my maternal grandmother's wedding dress. During the summer, my cousin and I would spend a week at our grandparents' house to spend quality time together and to help them with fun little chores. At the age of thirteen years old, we were finally able to try on our grandma's wedding dress. She must have finally thought we were responsible enough to try it on.

It's a beautiful vintage dress with a very classic 1950s look. It is from 1965 and has long lace sleeves, a scalloped sweetheart illusion neckline, a fitted bodice, and a big skirt. I had never worn something like that before and I was so excited to finally get to try it on. So I shed my Aeropostale t-shirt over my tank top and my Hollister short shorts to put on something that actually made me feel good to wear.

It wasn't until that moment that I realized just how uncomfortable I really was dressed in contemporary trends. As a teenager, you're still trying to get used to your changing body while figuring out your style and trying to fit in with your peers at the same time. It's not an easy period of your life for a lot of reasons.

But for me, I really didn't feel good about my body and it was hard for me to find clothing at all of the popular stores that didn't make me feel like an ogre.

So when I looked at myself dressed in my grandmother's dress, I finally felt good about my body. The silhouette was so classic and flattering, the sleeves made me feel so modest yet elegant, and I could actually see an attractive shape to my body.

It was like a style breakthrough. My mind was finally opened to a whole new way to dress and it was then that I realized I had just been wearing the wrong things for my particular body.

After that experience, I began to research vintage clothing from the 1950s and 60s and it resonated with me. It felt like I was born in the wrong era because my body seemed like it was made to wear that clothing.

That idea solidified itself even more as I started frequenting vintage clothing stores. It seemed like every dress I put on was made for me. The waistline hit at the perfect spot, the length was just right (I am just a tad shorter than the average American woman), and the tops fit my small chest in such a flattering way.

I amassed quite a few vintage pieces but I couldn't wear true vintage clothing all the time. So, I found contemporary brands that created more classic looking pieces.

My style was born: incorporating vintage silhouettes with modern pieces.

It felt so good to finally have my unique style and it suited me so well. Sure, I stood out among my peers but I began to enjoy that. It encouraged me to be different and to not worry so much about what other people thought. It was freeing to simply be uniquely me.

I honestly think that helped me to not follow trends and to think more for myself. Allowing yourself to stand out and stand up for yourself gives you a lot of power. And boy, did I feel powerful in my vintage dresses.

Senior year came around, and it was time to pick out my prom dress. I went to my favorite store in town: The Rag and Bone and tried on the most magnificent green prom dress from the 1950s. It was magical when I put it on. It honestly fit me perfectly, no alterations needed, and my mom was more than happy to purchase it for me (especially since it was a good $600 less expensive than the mass-produced prom dresses my peers were shopping for).

I have since worn my prom dress several other times, including to my brother-in-law's wedding. It still makes me so happy.

Another thing I love about my vintage clothing: it's a much more sustainable way to dress oneself. The fast fashion industry of today's world is so harmful to the environment and so I much prefer to buy well-made (oftentimes handmade) vintage pieces. I would say that a lot of my favorite articles of clothing are second-hand. And I am encouraged to see that lots of people are opting to frequent second-hand stores.

So, the moral of my story is: find what style works for you. Luxuriate in it. Find what makes you feel good about yourself, without worrying what other people will think. Your confidence will shine through.

trends
3

About the Creator

Renee

I live for unexpected experiences and good food! As a cultural-enthusiast and linguaphile, my studies and passions have taken me around the world. I teach English as a foreign language and I believe that language is beyond powerful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.