Motivation logo

Ask For Help

Learning how to reach out to others

By ReneePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
7
Ask For Help
Photo by Jametlene Reskp on Unsplash

As an independent and introverted perfectionist, I have always had trouble asking for help. In school, I avoided teachers’ office hours like the plague, not because I didn’t love my teachers, but because I was so afraid to ask for help. A lot of that was due to not wanting to be seen as a fraud. I so badly feared that by going to chat with a teacher outside of class, they would see how unprepared I truly felt. And a lot of the time I was underprepared.

I am a terribly self-sabotaging procrastinator; this behavior only increased the longer I was in school. I felt that by waiting until the last minute, I wouldn’t have to blame myself or my talents for a lack of finesse, rather I could blame it on the rush to get the project or paper or homework done. I convinced myself that I wouldn’t be held accountable, rather the rush would be responsible if the assignment turned out to be bad. But unfortunately for me in the long run, I often did well.

I got good grades, I was able to still know what was going on without actually having put that much effort into things. So I got lazy, and sometimes a bit cocky. I didn’t really study for tests, but I still did well. It was mostly due to the fact that I did really pay attention in class. I was very present, but I found it harder and harder to do my schoolwork at home.

So, things were done in a rush, I got good grades, but the imposter syndrome really took its toll on me. I didn’t want to expose my shallow knowledge of things. I was so afraid of a teacher asking more about what I thought of a certain reading or topic; since I had only done enough work to scrape by, I didn’t feel like I knew anything in depth. So I didn’t seek out mentorship.

I didn’t ask for help, and it really hurt me when it came time to my senior year of university. This was the time to put together my thesis. And I was so caught in between procrastination and fear or beyond found out to be a fraud that I didn’t ask for the help that I needed. I didn’t follow through with getting professional guidance from my professors. I fell behind in my work and now when I think of my thesis, I cringe. It isn’t the best work I could have done. It was a rushed job that passed, but it isn’t something I’m truly proud of.

So, now, even as a college graduate with 4 degrees and a Schreyer Honors Medal and a Fulbright certificate, I still feel like a fraud. And I have been keeping to myself and not seeking out opportunities because I fear asking for help. I fear that someone will find out my true nature, and I fear that my true nature is that I really am not very good at anything, especially anything pertaining to academia. So it’s hard. But, I think of how my time in Italy changed me, even just ever so slightly. I started to ask for help. Manu kept saying it to me “always ask for help!”, whether it be to go get groceries, or to network. And I was getting more comfortable with it.

Now, I do see myself seeking out mentorship and participating in things that normally would have frightened me to do. Like with this online tutoring, I have been participating in practice meetings and informative webinars. I find myself completing things just for myself, and not because of a deadline. I like this trend, and I hope to continue with it. I want to learn, to be mentored, and to ask for help.

Thanks for reading!

self help
7

About the Creator

Renee

I live for unexpected experiences and good food! As a cultural-enthusiast and linguaphile, my studies and passions have taken me around the world. I teach English as a foreign language and I believe that language is beyond powerful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.