Serve logo

Why JROTCs Are Good Organizations for Schools

Code Pink is falsely accusing a leadership career pathway as dangerous for high schoolers.

By Kyros WolfPublished 6 years ago 11 min read
Like
Glasgow High School 18th Annual Drill Colors and Classic Competition, 2017. 

On February 14th, 2018, Stoneman Douglas High School shooting occurred in Parkland, Flordia, changing American citizen's views on gun control, starting several movements, peaceful protests, law changes, and unity throughout the country. March 14th at 10:00 AM was the national school walkout against having to ever run in fear by an armed gunman in a school #ENOUGHISENOUGH, #NEVERAGAIN. Code Pink, a feminist movement for peace, tweeted, “We must pass gun laws, get JROTC and NRA out of our schools, and #DivestFromWar,” on that day. Even though three JROTC (Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps) Cadets died, protecting their fellow students and other JROTC students shielded their classmates, risking their lives.

"The school shooting in FL has once again highlighted the role of the military in our lives and in our schools. It’s time to stop the militarization of our children and end the JROTC program. The Parkland high school JROTC program taught Nikolas Cruz to shoot an AR-15 and was funded by the NRA. Our schools should be filled with trained educators, not a proving ground for military-style assault rifles." - Code Pink

Peter Wang, Alaina Petty, Martin Duque

JROTC Background

JROTC was established by the National Defense Act of 1916 as the US prepared to enter WWI in 1917. It originally only taught Army regulation, until 1964, when it was expanded to all branches. The original mission statement for JROTC stated, “Motivating young people to be good Americans,” which was later modified. Today the JROTC mission statement states, “To motivate young people to be better citizens.” The different JROTC units have their own personal core values, Air Force: Integrity first, Service before self, Excellence in all we do, Army: Loyalty, Duty, Respect, Selfless Service, Honor, Integrity, and Personal courage, Marine/Navy: Honor, Courage, and Commitment to build the foundation of trust and leadership. Originally the curriculum for JROTC taught combat tactics and combat weapons training, and military based tactics such as first aid. Up until 1990, the curriculum was changed and dropped combat tactics and combat weapons training, but increased the focus on citizenship and leadership. Today there are over 1600 JROTC units and over 274,000 cadets, drilling, serving their community, and making progress towards their future goals.

JROTC Myths

I wantedto outright get all the myths and questions that are always asked by new Cadets and/or parents out of the way first. Everything below states the myth, the answer to the myths (no), and the reason for the answer.

  1. You Are Forced to Go Into the Military: No Cadet within any JROTC high school program is forced to go into the military. Students are not obligated to take the courses in school; everything is voluntary. If you stay in the ROTC course for college for two years or more, you are obligated to join that branch, or if you have received a scholarship through that branch.
  2. JROTC Recruits for Armed Forces: Roughly 4% of JROTC Cadets go into the Armed Forces right after high school. If they do join they get a higher rank/pay grade, depending on the JROTC/ROTC branch they were with and how many years they have taken the course.
  3. JROTC Is Like Boot Camp: It is not like boot camp, it is a leadership and character education program. Harsh discipline or hazing is not acceptable and is against JROCT Code of Conduct.
  4. You Have to Pay for Required Materials: No, you do not have to pay for your required uniform on uniform days (unless you lost an item and the possible cost of maintaining). Most field trips are paid for by the branch if it is based on the curriculum; trips like the Military Ball and feeding the Drill Team are usually not paid for (unless your instructors budgeted for that expense).

Character Building

(Referencing back to the JROTC values, goals, and mission statement, read JROTC Background.) From the very beginning of JROTC, morals and values have been set for students taking the course. Cadets are taught from that day on what is expected of them and the meaning of following those core morals and values. These morals and values do not only apply to the JROTC, they apply to almost any situation. (A great book based on these values, The Warrior Ethos, by Steven Pressfield)

Loyalty: Bearing true faith and allegiance is a matter of believing in and devoting yourself to something or someone. This teaches Cadets teamwork, the importance of their work, and what it means to be a part of something greater. A loyal Cadet is someone who supports their leadership and stands up for their fellow peers/Cadets. Wearing the uniform on your uniform day shows that you are a part of something greater than yourself and that you are loyal to JROTC.

Duty: Duty describes what your work is; work entails building one assignment onto another. Cadets are required to fulfill obligations for their unit. Duty also entails that cadets work hard every day to be a better person than yesterday.

Respect: This relates back to the saying "treat people how they should be treated" or "treat people how you would want to be treated." Respect is not only shown to your peers but to yourself. This teaches cadets how respect changes the effectiveness of a team.

Selfless Service: Cadets are taught that they will do things without being recognized for it. You then are taught that when you do things it is not for yourself but for the greater good. Committed to push a little further, a little longer, and a little farther.

Honor: Honor is upholding the moral, characteristics, and values of JROTC or any other committee. Honor teaches Cadets to fulfill an obligation morally.

Integrity: Moral uprightness, to not lie, cheat, or steal. Almost like showing honor but with stricter terms.

Personal Courage: Courage is facing things that scare you, but you still do it anyways. This teaches cadets to face their own fears and accomplishing goals that may have seemed impossible, like public speaking.

Leadership: JROTChas a lot to do with teaching cadets what leadership is and how to accomplish it effectively.

Trust: The basics of teamwork starts with trust. You are taught to trust your team and understand what each of their strengths and weaknesses are. Trust helps a teams effectiveness in any situation.

With these moral characteristics and values being taught in the Corps students gain and learn what it means to be an outstanding citizen and what it means to help serve something greater than themselves.

Personal Experiences

I transferred to the current high school I am in now, because of their AFJROTC program. From the very first day of sitting in that class, I knew that was where I belonged. Since then I have been interviewed for their leadership team, joined as their Public Affairs Officer, worked hard in my job to rank up to become the Support Group Commander, the next year (this year) became their Corps Commander. I have learned how to use my skills to manage and enhance a great Leadership Team and train them to run the school's Corps (157 Cadets, it is a small Corps compared to others, but the school I attend only has about 650 students total), of course not without help from my Instructors and fellow Cadets. I have been to Summer Leadership School, Confident Training, tried out for the scholarships, been in school until 1100 to prepare drill competitions that we host, waking up at 430 to go to drill competitions, and meet with many state representatives all because I joined JROTC. I found my passion and love for something and I would not trade anything in the world for the experiences and skills that I have had being in a JROTC.

Code Pink, Why?

Dear Code Pink,

With all due respect to the many victims of mass/school shootings. JROTC/ROTC programs do not prepare to send students into war, JROTCs give their Cadets life lessons and teach them about how to support themselves. Why would you take this opportunity away from students? The opportunity to grow and learn about themselves and their community. We are taught to respect what we are handed and we learn what we can and can't handle. What happened in Florida was one of many cases in the United States, but were JROTC/ROTC programs a part of all of them? The problem did not arise from the school program but it comes from a deeper issue.

Conclusion

Code Pink has been misinformed about JROTCs, and making a statement like that makes them look bad (Just read some of their articles on their website). JROTCs have helped many students from all kinds of backgrounds find a passion in life, helped them figure out who they are and what they mean in the world, JROTCs have changed several lives for the better. Taking JROTC programs away from high school will not stop shootings from happening. This article could not emphasize or explain in enough detail on the many different and important things JROTCs/ROTCs has taught Cadets.

Fellow Cadet's Statements

I asked fellow Cadet in my Corps and others on social media to answer this question, "what inspired you to have joined JROTC and stay in the field?" I received over 350 different answers here are what a few of them had to say...

@pure_black_roses- "The JROTC program has not only taught me a lot of leadership skills, but it also helped me personally. I've gained a lot more courage and I got to learn a lot more about myself. I can definitely say joining the JROTC program was the best choice I've made. It makes the parents proud, the whole family proud, especially my grandparents and a neighbor of mine who also served in the military. I will be the first daughter to join the military in my family and with JROTC, I am already on my way."

@pizza067- "JROTC is a great opportunity not for me, but for everyone else who puts effort into it to gain leadership experience. Which will go a long way in the future. It helps me with my confidence and there are so many opportunities to help out my community through the program. JROTC helps us become better citizens and teaches us stuff no other class can. We get a look at who makes up the Chain of Command in the United States, physical fitness, organization, etc. My JROTC family makes me so happy and I feel like I am a part of them, it is not just a class. I lead a company now and I have learned so much in just doing that."

@bernard._.kritzer72- "Because JROTC is helping me with my education, confidence, attitude, preparing me for the future ect...Before I joined I was seeing 1.5-2.0 GPA, now I am seeing 3.0-4.0 (Maryland GPA). it's helping me understand how to create speeches, which is one thing I could never do. I'm also learning things that get me exposed to the real world. I used to be a bad kid, hanging out with the wrong people, I thought that they were my friends until they made fun of me for joining this program. I soon left that group of friends in the dirt. It is helping me prepare not only for grades but with college portfolios, job resumes, ect.. JROTC is a good class for everyone to take! Should not be removed at all!"

@recalledgolf184- "My first day I saw the single most important thing to any high school kid. The guys that were there were very friendly. They acted like brothers, all smiling and they seemed like such great guys to be around. I knew right then that I wanted to join the Drill Team in my JROTC unit. Ever since I have been made into a better person, a stronger person. I look back and I do not regret any of it. My experience in JROTC has been the best and the strongest. I have met people who I know I will be friends with for the rest of our lives."

@sergent_sweaty_snead- "I joined ROTC to better myself and to be a part of something bigger than me. I also joined for the brotherhood and now these guys and gals are like family. I had no confidence in my middle school years and ROTC has helped me to be comfortable in my own skin, and it has also taught me to get the job done right the first time. I'd be a dark and lost kid without ROTC, but ever since I've joined my life has become better."

@kyleigh.jacobs- "I joined because I knew that I needed to become a leader. JROTC has made me a better decision maker, helped me take initiative and shaped me into an amazing young woman. I joined for the camaraderie and the bond I would have with my fellow cadet brothers and sisters. JROTC has put insight into my life about the military and I want to join someday. I have learned to hold with confidence and respect Everyone to me is a ma'am or sir. I have instilled a better citizen within myself and I continue to improve as I live out the rest of my years in the program. MCJROTC is preparing me for the real world. I need this support because I don't receive it at home."

education
Like

About the Creator

Kyros Wolf

Writing for enjoyment. 💜 Simple things about life. 😻

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.