Serve logo

Love & Best Dishes: Citrus Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing Recipe Easy Salad Ideas

BEST CITRUS SALAD IDEAS

By money land2021 (moneyland2021)Published 11 months ago 3 min read
1
Love & Best Dishes: Citrus Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing Recipe  Easy Salad Ideas
Photo by Nadine Primeau on Unsplash

- Hey everybody, it's SERAH here, making another summertime wonderful simple recipe.

A beautiful arugula salad with some of my favorite flavor profiles. I love grapefruit, so I've got some red grapefruit here. I love orange. Got some orange and avocado and some lemon juice as a little preservative. Show you a little tip or trick that maybe you don't already know. And one of my mamas really, my favorite dressing that she does, a Vidalia onion poppy seed dressing, so you know it's good. All right, here we go. We're starting with just a bowl of arugula. Super simple. And we'll go ahead and cut our avocado. We eat, we, my family and I, eat lots of avocados. I really like them. Hard to get good avocados down here though. If you've ever been to California, then you really know what a good avocado is like. So it's a little bit hit or miss down here, but I've got a couple that I think are going to be nice. Be careful when you're doing this. I've got a couple of doctor friends that's, oh, this is beautiful too. Yeah, that's a hit right there. Got a couple of, or I've got one doctor friend that's like we call it avocado hand in the ER. So when you go to remove the seed from the avocado, make sure that you're careful doing that. We're going to slice our avocado and I like to do it inside of the shell here. So just run my knife through and then when we spoon it out, you'll have some nice slices already there. Yeah, that's a pretty avocado. Very pretty. So look, it comes out and it's already sliced. And the other half here. I said that this is a summer salad and it really is. These ingredients are, these are just screaming spring and summer and, but I like a good salad at any time of the year. I could eat, I could eat salad every day. Sometimes I do. All right, so our avocado's pretty, but if you know avocados, you know that they don't stay that way. And lemon juice is a really great preservative for avocado. This'll turn brown sitting out just in a couple of minutes. So what I'm going to do is just drizzle a little bit of lemon juice on top and now our avocados will be pretty long enough to make a salad with it and for us to eat . And those slices came out beautifully in the shell. Okay, great, here we go. So just going to sort of place some grapefruit in and around our arugula salad here. And I'm not going to toss this and mix it up. I'm going to just lay stuff on top and it's going to look really, really beautiful. These oranges are pretty, the grapefruit is pretty. It all looks super, super nice. Some avocado slices right on top. Oh boy. Your friends and family are going to be really, really happy with this. And that little bit of citrus, you know what I would do too? And since this is for me and mine, I think I will do it. I do this anyway at the house also. I'm going to just add a little bit of that lemon juice right into our salad and just give it a little bit of a, a little bit of a bite, a little bit of a hint of a bite there. It's going to be really, really good. My mama's salad dressing. . Vidalia onion poppy seed dressing. That is some good stuff. Not going to overdo it. Just a little drizzle. That is a beautiful, fresh looking salad. Little bit of some coarse salt, little bit of pepper. And the hardest part is all the prep, you know? Juicing those lemons, cutting up the orange and the grapefruit. But the end result is worth the trouble. It's beautiful, picture worthy, and your friends and family will love it, I promise. So bon appetite. Happy summer, y'all. . Love and best dishes, y'all.

how toveteranpop culturehistoryfitnessfamilyfact or fictioneducationcoast guardcelebritiescareerarmy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.