Serve logo

Living the Life of a Military Girlfriend

Military Life

By McKenna VinsonPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

This is my story. So hello, my name is McKenna. I am 18 years old, and I am currently in a relationship with a soldier deployed thousands of miles away from me. Some people are probably already thinking, how do you do it? Or poor you good luck getting through it. Funny thing is, sometimes I ask myself that same question everyday. I figured, writing this and sharing my day to day struggles with you all could help other women going through or will be going through the same thing I am currently. My boyfriend left a month ago, two days after my birthday and it still hasn’t really hit me yet that he’s truly gone. It’s a sticky situation with what information I give out, so let’s just say he’s going to be gone for awhile. Him and I have only been together for eight months, so this is quite the test for our relationship. I’ve had all kinds of things thrown out at me. All the sympathy, doubt, advice, etc. Everything you can think of I’ve heard so far. All the good luck to you, it won’t work out, oh you poor girl. It’s quite a lot to take in, also it doesn’t make anything better or worse. So most likely just saying nothing is the best response. When he told me two months into our relationship he was going to be deploying in the next few months I felt like my heart had completely shattered. I got into this new relationship feeling like I found everything I’ve ever wanted and more in a man and then I find out he’s leaving for months on end to go serve his country. How are us as women supposed to respond to something like this? That’s great? I’m so happy for you! Wow? We don’t even know what to say because in that moment we don’t even know what we’re truly feeling. There is so much physical and mental preparation for something like this. You also have to ask yourself if this relationship is something you seriously want to pursue, and is this worth waiting for? I feel like I had so many thoughts going through my head I couldn’t think straight. I’m two months into this amazing relationship with this great guy and he’s leaving in a few months to go halfway across the world. What am I suppose to do? Start over? No, I wasn’t that weak. I wanted this, I was happy. God just handed me a handful of things I didn’t know how to carry yet. Although it’s still rough carrying the weight of this sometimes, I’m doing it. I had mentioned earlier there is so much physical and mental preparation for something like this and I meant it. As much as you prepare for someone you grow to love to go away, it’s never enough preparation to say goodbye. I tell myself that I’ve been through a lot and this is just another mountain that I have to climb over, but sometimes it feels like the hardest one yet and it’s almost impossible. For any women who have been through this, you know what I mean. Long days, long nights, a lot of tears, a lot, and many mixed emotions. One thing I try to continue telling myself through these months he is gone is that this too shall pass. Nothing lasts forever, in some cases that’s a good thing. As for this deployment, that’s a great thing. I told myself this time in my life is where I can work on myself while the man I love travels the world. I can figure out who I wanna be and what I want to do with my life. I promised myself the day he came home I would have money in the bank, a good job, and a good head on my shoulders. I guarantee I can guess what half of you are thinking already reading through this. You’re 18, you are so young! Why commit yourself at such a young age. My only response to that, is I was forced as a child to grow up too fast. I have seen and lived through so much, that all I want anymore is to get my career started and settle down with someone who loves me just as much as I love them. So, just know that’s why I am where I am and am waiting for who I am waiting for. Throughout this deployment, so far, I have been so blessed with the most amazing supportive people. I can’t tell you how lucky I am to have his family by my side to go through this with. I can’t imagine things otherwise, but for those who don’t have that extra support. Don’t give up, it’s worth it. Call me crazy for being a month in and writing a story on something I haven’t even gotten halfway through yet, but I know what I’m facing. I know what to expect and I know what I signed up for. We as women know that once we go without seeing our soldier for days, weeks, months, some even years. We come to appreciate what we have so much more, every hour and everyday with them is just another blessing. As hard as it can be to be without him sometimes, I wouldn’t have things any other way. The most rewarding feeling for us, is the day they come home and we finally can say we did it. We welcome our soldiers home with open arms. Don’t give up ladies, keep your head up. Nothing lasts forever, and that includes these deployments.

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.