Serve logo

America The Beautiful

Memorial Day 2020

By Kate AdamsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
God Bless the USA

Happy Memorial day all. I would like to take the time to pay tribute to the five most important men in my life. One of which I wasn't able to meet due to him dying in the line of Duty.

First I would like to acknowledge my Grandfather Argus who served in WWI. At the time of his enlistment the branch he was in was the Army. By the time this war ended the Marine Corp was created. Asking my dad what my Grandfather was like before he went to war; I was told my Grandfather was the sweetest person he knew. Such a joy to be around. Sure wish I had the opportunity to sit down and talk to him for awhile so as to be personally educated in history and the era he grew up in.

My Dad, Ken was in the Navy for 4 years. Served as a cook on a navel ship. Not being on the front lines he didn't see a whole lot but the experiences he had was something to speak about in conversation. Learning experience for me as it pertained to my dad's life history. Although my dad had passed in 2009 from Cancer I remember all the good times and the gentle demeanor he had. Even to today, I would give anything to see my dad again, go for a walk in the park, or sit at home with him "Just Resting" and talk about future plans or silly topics we happen to make up at the time. Thank you for your service dad.

My Uncle Clarence was in the Navy and Air Force. Not to long after he enlisted in the Navy he was able to with my Grandmothers permission and a signed slip have my dad enlist in the Navy so as to remove them both from an abusive step-father. Although I can't remember how long my Uncle stayed in the Navy; I do know it was long enough to get my dad situated with his assignment before moving on to the Air Force. While in the Air Force my Uncle was trained and eventually became a fighter pilot. At the end of WWII my dads four years were up and my Uncle retired from the Military as a whole. Couldn't be prouder to Call Clarence my Uncle. I will certainly miss the southern twang in his voice when he spoke. He passed away in 2010 from cancer as well.

My cousin Shawn was in the Army for four years and from my understanding acquired cancer from handling the missles. Just like his Father and our Grandfather; Shawn was a gentle soul. I knew him well as a child but when my immediate family moved to Arizona we lost touch and had no idea how the other one would turn out as adults. We had plenty of time to talk before his passing and it seemed as though we were similar in many ways. It was nice to get a laugh or two with him before his passing in 2015. A gentleman who was in the same platoon as Shawn and close friends with his immediate family was at the funeral as well. Which gave me the opportunity to have my cousins 6 while serving our great country and state side.

My best friend of all time Randy served in the Navy as well during Desert Storm. At the end of a four year run Randy had to call is quits. I don't know if he acquired PTSD but I could see a difference in him whenever he came home on leave.It was always "Party Time" when he came home. I met Randy at the Great Skate in Phoenix Arizona before he enlisted. We had the same friends so the obvious would be that when it came to parties at a friends house him and I would be there. Although I haven't seen Randy in many years I still appreciate him for serving our country and being a positive part of my life. Wherever you are Randy, Thank You for your service and Thank You for being an awesome friend.

These are just a few stories I could add to this Memorial Day weekend. I hope everyone has a wonderful Memorial Day. And please Thank a Vet for their service. If it weren't for the men and women, past and present who gave their lives so we could enjoy our freedom; we would probably have no freedoms at all.

-Kate

veteran
1

About the Creator

Kate Adams

I have 28 years experience in the customer service field with one year experience as a Medical Assistant, one year experience as a CNA with various positions (Cashier, In Home Health, etc) in between. I also have an Associates degree.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.