Psyche logo

X and Y

An Extraordinary World

By Stef P.Published 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Because we love numbers and letters...

Imagine a world full of numbers, geometry, shapes... where you wake up in a box and you go to sleep in a box

Imagine...

Where 2+2 makes more sense than playing with a toy car... simply because a toy car will just give you an abstract ending.

Ladies & Gents welcome to the world where things are seen in a different light, under a different perspective. Welcome to a world where colours become rainbows and shapes become art. Welcome to the spectrum.

Wait what? A sp... what?? Autism, in other words. Yes, people because autism is just simply a condition that makes people see the world in a different way.

Sometimes it feels like a bomb that dropped on your head, “Oh! Is he autistic? But he doesn’t look like it!” Of course he doesn’t! Have I been missing something? Does autism have a colour? A shape?

People, do we even know what we are talking about?? One of the most recent comments I received was... “Oh yeah, I have heard your son has autism... well I just guess you have him (I'm assuming this person was saying you gave birth to him) and you have to deal with it…" I had to take five steps back before I could have hurt someone. REALLY???? Lady! Are you serious???

And what makes you so special that you even talk to me that way? Oh wait it must be stupidity…

Yes, because people don’t realize that the only real difference that someone on the spectrum have compared to a neurotypical person is the fact that they see the world a little different…

But then my question is, are we really neurotypical? Or is it society that labels us?

Do we dress the same, think the same, and walk the same? No… the neurotypical world is just as different as the autism world.

Some people might think I am just going crazy... Others might think I am already insane, believe me, I am not!

I have been living with autism for five years. One thing I can say is that living with the spectrum is different, challenging, but never boring. It is, in fact, full of colours and laughter. Of course there are worries… well who doesn’t have them?

Autism is also called spectrum because it is huge, because autism is not just a single word, it is sensory, it is delay, it is self harming… it is many words combined into one BIG word.

My living with autism has made me realize that the world, which surrounds us, can be difficult only if we want to make it difficult. Everything is possible, everything can be achieved, the most important thing is not to expect.

If you expect and fail, it could be a problem for some... if you do not expect, but achieve that could give great joy to others.

In my case, in my journey I never expect, I don’t lead but I observe and feel, and this way I am sure one day I will go somewhere.. but if I don’t that’s OK too. My world is just as extraordinary as someone else’s world and can also just be boring as the other person sitting next to me on the bus.

In the last few years, I had a mentor to guide me trough this journey and so far I think I have been following and taking notes and applying what my mentor shows me.

My mentor is only 5-years-old, but with a brain of a genius and a body of a gazelle… he is my little mini me with just more brain than me!

stigma
Like

About the Creator

Stef P.

A mum advocate for autism walking in the wild side of the planet...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.