Psyche logo

World Cup: 'New face' Pedrie, young Matador Corps strength is doubtful!

Pedrie: Being rejected by Real Madrid inspired me to move on and I will remember last week's national Derby

By Yan Guo LuanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Spain coach Luis Enrique has been accused of favouritism, allowing players to be used despite a lack of consistent playing time, but it has taken him four years to build up the Mad Bulls in the Europa League earlier this year.

Since taking charge of Spain in 2018, Luis Enrique's selection has been dogged by allegations that he chose not to call up some of his biggest names in order to establish his credentials in the dressing room, or that he favoured Barcelona over Real Madrid, who were not selected for last year's European Championship.

Despite the conspiracy theories, Luis Enrique has been absolutely committed to his system, choosing only suitable players, such as David de Gea, who is superb in saves but has recently fallen out of favour because of his poor delivery, and Jago Aspas, who has been left out, Instead Borja Iglesias, who worked with Luis Enrique at Celta, has risen to prominence this season.

There is nothing wrong with Luis Enrique's approach. The problem is that many of the players he relies on are getting older and not necessarily starting in the team any more: Alba, Aspiligueta, Pavlo Saravia, Ferran Torres, Asensio, etc. Moreover, he demands high pressure football, and it is difficult to play well when a player is benched at a club and loses his rhythm and form.

Spain

World ranking: 7

Last time: Round of 16

World Cup appearances: 16

Best achievement: Champion

Manager: Luis Enrique

Pederi is the new star, rightly or wrongly, considering that he is only 19 but was a sure starter at last year's European Championship.

After landing at Barcelona from Serie B in 2020, Pedri's career has been a helicopter ride, immediately becoming a starter at the Camp Nou, playing 52 games throughout the season, and in successive summers, playing for Spain in the European Championship and the Tokyo Olympics.

The World Cup, Spain's starting midfield line is almost certain to be complex Barcelona, by big brother Busquets with small Pederi, Garvey. Coach Luis Enrique has said Pedrie is "the face". "In the past, Spain had a lot of players like that, so win everything. Now, the first one that comes to mind is Pedrie."

Despite his age, Pedrie is very mature, not only dribbling and transmission ability, the most important is football intelligence, often can make the best decisions, "I always like Iniesta's play, he is my indicator, I try to follow his example."

However, the 19-year-old is still not quite up to the task in terms of mentality and has failed to turn the tables on the big teams at Barcelona this season. Recalling his extra-time winner in the 2010 World Cup final, Pedrie will need to grasp those moments if he is to become the real successor.

"When I was young, Real Madrid told me that I didn't have that level and now that I'm at the level I want to be, I don't like being rejected like that, but after that, it keeps motivating me. For those who rejected me in Madrid, I tell them I am happy at B Barca."

"The national Derby last weekend I will always remember, it was an unbelievable thing, but now we are in the national team and we are a team. A celebration at the National Derby? I think the Real Madrid players will celebrate in the same way. When you beat your direct opponent 4-0, you celebrate like that because you get great joy."

"Sometimes, when I'm on the pitch, I talk to players from other teams. Federico Valverde and I talked about a lot of things a few days ago."

"My favorite is No. 8, like Iniesta. But with the national team, it was Koke's number and I respected that, I had two choices among the other numbers and then I chose number 10."

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Yan Guo Luan

I like movies, music, science fiction and art. I am a certified graphic designer and create my own art. Things that inspire me include equality, respect and anything weird.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.