Psyche logo

Working in Retail Helped Me Get Over My Social Anxiety

And Other Things I've Found Useful in the Last Few Years

By Elise GarrettPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Social anxiety can make you feel left out or out of place, but you are not alone.

Social anxiety is a disorder that affects over 200,000 Americans every year, and living with it can be very difficult and hindering to every day actions like ordering food, driving, and even being in public at all. While it can go hand in hand with agoraphobia (a fear of the dangers of the world outside of a safe space/your home), they are not the same. Social anxiety is most common in adolescents. It can be seen in adults as well, and in a world where communication is key to our everyday lives, social anxiety can get in the way of having a job and supporting yourself. Solutions to social anxiety and tools that help you overcome your insecurities with social interactions and situations work differently for everyone, but I've found the most success with working in retail.

I know, I know. It seems like retail would be even worse for social anxiety, and that may be the case for some, but working in an environment where I have to talk to people pushed me to become more comfortable with talking to new people. I worked as a sales associate, so my job literally depended on pushing myself to talk to people. When I first started, there was a transitioning period where I would get really nervous before a shift and maybe feel a little overwhelmed at times, but I was lucky enough to work with great people that were there to help me learn and had my back. Being around supportive people made it much easier for me to grow and feel okay with social interactions instead of beating myself up for days over every little thing I said to people throughout the day. I went from being afraid of saying "hi" to a stranger to enthusiastically greeting them and starting a conversation.

Not only did this transformation help my social anxiety at work, it helped with situations out of work as well. Ordering food became easier, talking to strangers became easier, I started complimenting people on the street to see their faces light up instead of keeping it to myself, and I even started actively trying to make new friends with people I've just met. None of this would have ever been possible if I hadn't worked so hard to get out of my comfort zone.

I did theater all through high school, doing tech and acting, but even with my experience onstage, it was hard to be open outside of the theater or offstage. It's a lot easier to be confident when you're pretending to be someone else, which is why a lot of actors actually struggle with public speaking and often do suffer from social anxiety. Without a character to hide behind, you feel exposed and self conscious.

Another thing that really helped me with my social anxiety is stand up comedy. Not only do you practice talking in a situation with a lot of attention directed toward you, but even if you do get nervous, you can create a persona to help you get through it. In fact, some comics use their anxiety as a device in their comedy. It also helps to be in a friendly community with people like you because you're more motivated to become friends with them, or they're more likely to come up and talk to you. Any kind of social activity that gets you around new people is good for working on your social anxiety. Group activities, programs, and fun things like comedy, music shows, or public events are great opportunities for meeting new people and really practicing talking and being around people.

Overcoming your social anxiety is not easy and does take time and hard work, but it is possible! Don't give up and don't feel discouraged if you're struggling with it, because it's okay and you're not alone. It will take time, but it can be done, and I know many people that struggled with social anxiety for years and have now come out of their shells and found ways to become more comfortable in social situations. Remember that you will have to step out of your comfort zone, but don't feel pressured to do something you don't want to or don't feel safe doing. If you really are uncomfortable in a situation, there is nothing wrong with stepping out of the situation. Do not feel bad about having to leave a situation, because it is perfectly okay and you need to take your time and do what feels right to you. Everyone changes at different speeds, and the most important thing is that you are safe and healthy. With these tips, I hope it encourages you to get out there and open up because you are great and people want to get to know you! You've got this, and you've got people rooting for you.

work
Like

About the Creator

Elise Garrett

My interests lie mostly in comic books, comedy, makeup, art, and of course there's much more. I want to get my writing out there and influence others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.