Psyche logo

The story of Mr. Lincoln

Mr. Lincoln, before you begin your speech, I want you to remember that you are the son of a shoemaker.

By Yan Guo LuanPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

In 1860, Lincoln ran for president against one of the most prominent men of his time, candidate Douglas. He relied on his wealth to prepare a special campaign train, and installed a gun in the back, he would go wherever he went, a thirty-two gun salute. In his mind, he could win the presidency by overpowering the poor boy.

Unlike his opponents, Lincoln rode in a ploughing wagon. Wherever he went, he personally went to the voters and made friendly contacts with them. One of his speeches has never been forgotten: "If people ask me how much I have, I will tell them that I have a wife and three daughters, all of whom are priceless. In addition, there was a rented office with a desk, three chairs, and a large bookcase in the corner, on which there were books worth reading for everyone. I myself was poor and thin, with a long face, and would not put on weight. I really have nothing to fall back on. The only thing I have to fall back on is you."

That year, Americans may have seen the best of Lincoln's humanity in his deep love for his family and in his heartfelt speeches. More importantly, he placed his sole reliance on the people, and this kind of heartfelt reliance on the people made them feel that they needed such a president. In that year, as a poor boy, he defeated his opponent and became the 16th president of the United States.

In fact, no matter whether a president wins the support of voters, or an ordinary person wants to win the understanding and respect of others, he or she does not need to make much of a show of momentum, nor do he or she need to try hard to show other charm.

Because the important thing is not these, but a heart, as long as we are willing to take out their own heart, we can get everything we need from others.

On the eve of his presidential campaign, Lincoln was insulted by a senator while speaking before the Senate.

The senator said, Mr. Lincoln, before you begin your speech, I want you to remember that you are the son of a shoemaker.

Although it was a society with a strong emphasis on race and class, Lincoln had already qualified to run for president, so everyone present was shocked and wanted to see how Lincoln would cope with the awkward situation. Lincoln turned to look at the arrogant senator. There was no hatred or irritation in his eyes. Lincoln said sincerely, I thank you very much for reminding me of my father. He has passed away. I will always remember your advice. I know I cannot be President as well as my father was a shoemaker. As far as I know, my father used to make shoes for your family. If your shoe doesn't fit, I can correct it for you. Although I am not a great shoemaker, I learned the skill of making shoes from my father when I was young. Then he said to all the senators: To anyone in the Senate, if my father made the shoes you are wearing and they need fixing or improvement, I will help if I can. But one thing's for sure, his handiwork is second to none. At this point, Lincoln shed tears of yearning.

After a brief silence, sincere applause broke out and continued. All who laughed at Lincoln and saw his jokes were ashamed of themselves. Lincoln relied on his noble character to become president of the United States.

Later, some people complained about President Lincoln's treatment of his political enemies: Why would you try to make them friends? You should find a way to fight and destroy them. When we became friends, wasn't I killing political enemies? "President Lincoln said gently.

Lincoln is No. 1 on a list of the 10 greatest American Presidents.

As president, Lincoln also had trouble. Although he was not well, some people came to the White House and asked him for an official position. Lincoln asked his secretary to hold off the naggers for him. Of course, there were people who did everything they could to ask to see Lincoln.

Once a man from Lincoln's country asked to see him. Lincoln was happy. And he invited him in, and, behold, he had also come to the official. He wouldn't leave once he walked in the door.

Lincoln found out the purpose of his visit, although the heart of the displeasure, but it was not in the country and polite to send a direct "leave." When the doctor arrived, Lincoln held out his hand as if he were being rescued. "Look, Doctor," he said, "what the hell have I got here?

Taking advantage of the intruder's inattention, he sneaked a glance at the doctor.

What a clever man the doctor was, he took Lincoln's hint and said in mock surprise, "Oh! Isn't it false smallpox?"

"What is false smallpox?" "Asked the visitor warily.

The doctor said, "It's a mild case of smallpox."

Lincoln said, "Doctor, I have it all over my body. It's very uncomfortable. You see it's contagious, right?"

The doctor pretended to be serious and said, "Yes, it is contagious, very contagious, and put on the mask.

The visitor, a little alarmed, got up at once and said, "Since Mr. Lincoln is not well, I don't want to disturb him. I'm going."

Lincoln said, "Aren't you busy?"

The visitor said anxiously, "No, no, I just came to see you." And hurried out of the door.

Lincoln and the doctor looked after him and smiled at each other.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Yan Guo Luan

I like movies, music, science fiction and art. I am a certified graphic designer and create my own art. Things that inspire me include equality, respect and anything weird.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.