Psyche logo

Terry Pratchett: Made Me Believe In Magic

He created a world I wanted to live in

By Sam FinlaysonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Terry Pratchett: Made Me Believe In Magic
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

When Terry Pratchett died I felt like a family member had died. His books were an integral part of my early life, hell they still are. When I was younger I would have one of his books everywhere so I could read one wherever I was.

The horrible irony of him having Alzheimer’s disease was that it attacked his mind, the magical place that created so many wonderful people and worlds.

He had many thoughts on Death. So many he had a series about Death and his adventures. Mort is arguably one of the funniest and poignant books about death. It explores our preconceptions around life and death. Also death becomes a cook in a café, so there’s that.

“I USHERED SOULS INTO THE NEXT WORLD. I WAS THE GRAVE OF ALL HOPE. I WAS THE ULTIMATE REALITY. I WAS THE ASSASSIN AGAINST WHOM NO LOCK WOULD HOLD.

“Yes, point taken, but do you have any particular skills?”

― Terry Pratchett, Mort

Throughout my life, my love for his books grew, they became my safe place. If I was worried or upset Discworld welcomed me with open arms. Wrapping me in a cosy blanket of the familiar where I was safe to be whoever I wanted. No judgments. I scoured the second hand shops, put them on my birthday and Christmas lists until I had them all.

Once I had them I read them in order, rereading them until I needed a new one. Always favouring the real book over electronic. There is something magical about opening up a new book. Smelling that new book smell.

The book that started my journey with Terry Pratchett was Good Omens which he wrote with Neil Gaiman. It is the tale of good vs evil, nature vs nurture.

“There was the kind of silence there might have been on the day before Creation.

Adam stood smiling at the two of them, a small figure perfectly poised exactly between Heaven and Hell.

Crowley grabbed Aziraphale’s arm. “You know what happened?” he hissed excitedly. “He was left alone! He grew up human! He’s not Evil Incarnate or Good Incarnate, he’s just…a human incarnate-”

― Neil Gaiman, Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

The way Terry Pratchett weaved the words onto the page is mesmerising. He made even the hardest subject matter easy to digest getting his point across with graceful subtlety.

One of my absolute favourites was Equal Rites which is essentially a look at equality in the workplace. Granny Weatherwax was the hero of that book, for me, a fierce witch who took no crap off anyone especially wizards (I mean who would right).

“How did you get here, little girl?’ she said, in a voice that suggested gingerbread cottages and the slamming of big stove doors.”

― Terry Pratchett, Equal Rites

His were the first books I laughed out loud at. In public no less. Sat on the train reading Mort and spent most of the journey laughing to myself, loudly. Got the whole seat to myself the entire journey, I wonder why?

When they started adapting his books for TV. I was ready, pitchforks waving in case they ruined my books. Luckily they had him there helping to adapt meaning the core of each story was intact. They made them look how I had always imagined they would.

Then I heard Good Omens was to be made, this was the big one them getting this right was important to me. That book in particular got me through some awful times in my life I really needed it to be right. When I watched the first episode everything about it was beautiful and pure, I could have cried.

I hope he knew when he was alive how important his words were. How much he meant to people. That he will always be alive in the pages of these books for me and countless others.

So as I read the Colour of Magic for the 20 millionth time. I am eternally happy he was alive. I was privileged to read his words, peek inside his brain. Escape to his beautiful world so full of hope and magic. He helped me see that no matter who you are we all have a place. Sometimes you even have walking luggage to carry you on your way.

“No one is actually dead until the ripples they cause in the world die away…”

― Terry Pratchett, Reaper Man

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Sam Finlayson

Love 📚 New to writing but loving every minute. Write about my experiences with therapy, trauma and recovery as well as other things that cross my mind 😉

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.