Psyche logo

Support Groups

You are not alone.

By Ashley PoguePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I went to my first support group meeting today. I was pretty nervous at first, but it didn't take me long to open up. There were four other people and they all seemed very open and accepting. I really enjoyed it because just to meet other people with the same diagnosis as me and have the same trial and error experience with medications and have the same daily struggles as me is very reassuring. We laughed about how we all agreed how bad Celexa was and shared what different medications we are currently taking. They gave me some good advice on medications to look into, coping mechanisms to try, and similar struggles that I could relate and empathize to. I feel like I know almost exactly what these people are going through and that it's similar to what I am experiencing. It makes me feel like I'm kind of less alone with this struggle. Its amazing what an hour and a half talk with random strangers can do for you. We talked about ways to think positively and how we can think of these problems as potentially beneficial. I shared that I probably wouldn't have gotten through my rigorous college program if I hadn't had generalized anxiety disorder to always keep me in fear. But in a way, it strongly motivated me to get everything done ahead of time so I wouldn't have to worry about it later.

Yes it still does suck when your brain finds irrational fears and becomes overwhelmed over some little issue and you can't even tell the difference between what's rational and irrational, but we are stronger because we still push through everyday life with this baggage. It does suck when you are so depressed you literally cannot find the strength to get out of bed and do your daily tasks, but when you finally do, you reward yourself for overcoming it! It's all about the little things. I need to be proud of myself for being strong enough to get out of bed! Living with mental illnesses, everyday simple tasks can become a fucking nightmare. It can range from getting out of bed in the morning to making a simple phone call to building up the courage to text a friend for help to telling yourself you do deserve to be happy; you can be happy and you can get through this. Even if you are alone, you can pull that motivation and drive out of your ass and turn your entire day around. And after you have, you can say, "I did it!" I found the light while being at the bottom of a deep dark fucking well. I am strong. And if I happen to fall back in, I can do it again because I have done it before. And if someone else falls in, I can explain to them how I got out and maybe they can find their way out as well.

It's hard to stay in a routine and force yourself to do coping exercises while depressed. But you just need to do it. Drag yourself by the ear and pull a happy thought out of your ass if you have to. It can even be something like "I am thankful for having eyeballs or I am thankful for having this cup of water next to me." Even the smallest things can make a difference because they add up. Starting tomorrow, I will strive to write down two things I am thankful for, two things I like about myself, and meditate for at least five minutes every morning. I am hoping that these methods will help me start my day off on a positive note so I can continue this way of thinking for the rest of the day.

My support group helped me see a lot of new things and ideas that had originally been fogged over. They showed me that it's okay to have anxiety and depression. Nothing is wrong with you. These disorders have made you who you are today, but they do not define you. I highly recommending finding a support group in your area and giving it a shot. The worst thing it can do is leave you where you are right now. But it can also help you make new friends, help you learn more about yourself, teach you about how others are going through the same shit, and leave you with new ideas and advice to live a better life.

support
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.