Psyche logo

Self Care Wear

A new line of apparel dedicated to raising mental health awareness.

By Ashley Beatty-PernettiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Visit my store! See link below.

For most of my life, I’ve struggled with multiple mental health illnesses -- from depression and anxiety to anorexia and attention deficit disorder. And then some. As I got older, I realized how misunderstood these illnesses are and how many people feel uncomfortable talking about them. Because mental health has always been a part of my life, I’ve never felt uncomfortable talking about my illnesses, but rather felt ashamed and overwhelmed. And today, I am no longer ashamed. I’ve accepted all of my diagnoses and openly talk about them. Mental illnesses are not something to be ashamed of or feel uncomfortable talking about. Recently, I took the steps to continue raising awareness and supporting mental health.

A logo I created for my store.

In the past, I had considered making something -- art, clothes, music, etc. -- that would encourage mental health conversations, but I didn’t know where to start or what to do. So, I gave up. Now, into my late twenties, I’ve decided to take a leap and do it anyway! Mental health requires a lot of passion and dedication, and I’m finally confident enough to use that to my advantage.

For so many people, opening up about their illnesses takes a lot of courage. For some it may feel impossible, especially when there’s no “right” way to start the conversation. I understand this feeling all too well, and that’s why I decided to create Self Care Wear.

Multiple styles, colors and sizes available.

Self Care Wear is my apparel brand that I’ve recently launched! T-shirts, tank tops, sweatshirts, and more, all with my own designs supporting mental health. So far, I’ve launched two designs: “I am worthy, so are you” and “Self care every day.”

The best part? I will be donating 30% of the profits to Project Semicolon, a non-profit organization dedicated to providing hope and resources to those that struggle with mental health illnesses, self harm, and addiction. The idea behind Project Semicolon is exactly what it sounds like. In writing, a semicolon is used when the author could’ve ended the sentence but chose not to. In life, a semicolon represents someone thinking about ending their life but choosing to continue their fight. It is a simple and strong message that needs to be recognized.

"i am worthy | so are you"

I have several more designs on the books, waiting to be used on apparel in the near future, and I can’t wait for the world to see them! Running an apparel business isn’t going to be easy, and I expect many failed attempts before true success. And that’s okay, because mental health is SO IMPORTANT and must be talked about. I wanted to create something that starts a conversation with simple designs while also supporting an important cause. If I have to fail a thousand times before that happens, I’m okay with that. Failure is part of growth, and that is something I’ve learned many, many times throughout my mental health battles.

If you or someone you know is interested in joining this conversation and raising mental health awareness, I encourage you to check out my online store, Self Care Wear and be part of this movement! These designs are for anyone, not just those who struggle with mental health illnesses. If you know someone who struggles, if you struggled in the past, or if you just want to support an important cause, this apparel is perfect for you. I will be adding new designs for purchase every two weeks and donating to Project Semicolon on a monthly basis. For more information about Project Semicolon, click here.

To anyone struggling with mental health illnesses, I am proud of you. You woke up today. And even if that’s the only thing you did, I am proud of you. You have a very important place in this world and are worthy of love, compassion, and understanding. Don’t allow your brain to tell you any differently.

support
1

About the Creator

Ashley Beatty-Pernetti

Wife. Mom. Creator.

Just a messy 29-year-old, wading her way through life, one word at a time.

Raising mental health awareness with the written word and firsthand experience.

Both fiction and non-fiction stories to nourish your soul.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.