Psyche logo

My Journey Through Mental Health Education

Profound Experience#8

By RachelAnnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Self-Acceptance................

We were asked to find articles that pertained to mental health and review them. In my search, I came across a book about just how important self-acceptance is.

The Strength of Self-Acceptance

A synapse of the book

By Rachel Ann Rascoe

In my search for an article, I came upon this book. My search was for children suffering from self-esteem issues, and whala this is what I got. This book is about exploring different theologies, psychological theories, and therapies views on self-acceptance as the KEY to resolving misery. It includes my favorite Karl Rogers in there with Maslow and “third wave” cognitive-behavioral and self-regulation approaches from Hayes and Wilson. So I bought it and intend to digest this after this course.

In this book, they are going to intertwine findings on the importance of self-acceptance when it comes to the fulfillment of happiness in people’s lives. That there is a distinct division between self-acceptance and self-esteem. Each participating researcher or theologian is convinced that self-acceptance must be valued and a positive character trait. And that it can and should be developed through therapeutic and educational processes.

As a former childcare worker (and county advocate) I KNOW this to be true. In my programs, I made it a point to incorporate self-acceptance, awareness, and care. I observed many changes in children that came through the program because of what our curriculum was based upon. Not that I took notes or did a case study, but I still know many of them who turned their lives around completely, once they KNEW they were worth more than the environment they were currently in.

Funny thing is, I am just beginning to do this for myself. I taught so many (including my own) and yet I fail to recognize the importance for myself. Until now. Better late than never, right?

I believe this book carries a balance for me. A balance of science and spirituality that I NEED. My approach to counseling will be of the same quality and I feel as though this book will provide me with some pretty incredible insight. Because my heart is with helping people attain this at a much earlier stage in life, if at all possible. There is nothing more freeing than accepting who you truly are, while also respecting the right of others to do the same. That you do so without judgment upon yourself, or them, for simply being happy with who they are. That is my desire because I know how torturous it can be to spend too many years living to please others.

I have no idea how I will accomplish this but I know that I need to. So right now I am here gathering my tools of the trade and this book seems to be a fit!

***I did get the book and started to read it. I never expected that I would find some deeper understanding for myself. Especially not in the first few chapters. I thought, I accepted myself for who I am, but that is proving to be wrong. And in the middle of it all, I had a difficult but necessary conversation with my oldest. Not that I was telling HER anything, she pointed out that I have yet to learn to pay attention to myself. That I spent a lifetime pleasing everyone and NOT being who I really wanted to be.

She’s right. I acted out my whole life (outside of them) just as I was told when I was little. With them (my daughters) I was ALWAYS myself. I’m different and I am ok with that. It just hurts that so many are not. I WASN’T accepting of myself! I was giving everyone who they wanted. HOW did I manage to teach so many “how-to” and yet I fail at living the lesson myself? I’ll have to get back to you on that. I’m learning now.

book reviews
1

About the Creator

RachelAnn

Thoughts and messages flow to me

Some in story....some in ryhme.... I write them to share with all of you who need them.

If and when you find it.....it's perfect timing for you....it means you're ready to hear it...or read it in this case LOL

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.