Psyche logo

Musiara: Since I was a kid, wanting to win the Ballon d 'Or and compare me to Messi was a motivation

"Every kid dreams of the World Cup. The first time I watched the World Cup was in 2014 when I wore a Germany shirt. I watched every game and really enjoyed it."

By Yan Guo LuanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Speaking to The Kicker, Musiara said he was happy with his form this season.

He said: "There are still a lot of things I can improve on and there are moments in the game where I'm not really there or I'll miss a pass, so I still want to work on that. Compared to last season, I think I developed well and made a good start to this season."

"I always try to work on myself and reflect on the coaching and my own situation. I'm playing in a more attacking position than I was last season and now I'm finding a position where I'm really comfortable. I also found my rhythm match by match."

"My shooting is already good, but I still work hard to be as efficient as possible. After training, I work on it with the assistant coach. I'm playing more in the attacking position and I'm working on my body to stay fit and consistent."

On self-criticism: "It's hard to be happy with myself after a game. There are always situations I could have handled in a better way, and that mindset has stayed with me."

Musiara, who received a standing ovation against Mainz, said: "It's a really good feeling. I'm happy for the fans to enjoy the game and have fun. Football attracted me when I was young, when a player showed it to me."

On being the undisputed starter this season: "It's certainly nice. Everyone wants to play in their position but I have to continue to perform well to keep it that way."

On whether individual awards are important to him: "Every player wants to win individual awards. When I was a child, I dreamed of winning the Golden Ball. But I don't think about it too much, I just want to improve and get better and win trophies with the team, and if it comes with individual awards, so much the better. Of course, as a kid, you dream of winning the Ballon d 'Or."

Asked if he was annoyed not to win the Golden Boy award, he said: "It doesn't change anything for me. I respect Garvey. He's a good player. Third place is also an honor and motivation for me to keep trying to get better."

Matthaus compares him to Messi: "It's an honour for a legend like Matthaus to make such a compliment. I don't feel extra pressure because of it, I use it as motivation."

On his goals: "To develop and get better. And the goals of the team, the titles we want to win. Personally, I want to be one of the best players in the world. If you want to go far, you have to be in that mindset all the time."

On the World Cup: "I think we have a very good team that can go very far and Germany are a good title contender. We go into the game with the mentality that we can win trophies and you have to believe you can win."

World Cup favorites: "There are a lot of them, and Brazil is at its best."

On success at the World Cup: "Help the team, score as many goals as possible, create chances and play like I did at Bayern. We'll be disappointed if we don't win the title. I want to win every game."

Where he wants to play for Germany: "It's Frick's decision. I certainly prefer to play as a No10, where I can also make an impact in the halves."

A World Cup starter? "Every player goes into the game with such ambition. I want to help the team as much as I can."

On Frick: "I always have a good conversation with him, I see him as a mentor, he can tell me a lot of things, he helped me break through at Bayern, I feel very comfortable under him."

"Every kid dreams of the World Cup. The first time I watched the World Cup was in 2014 when I wore a Germany shirt. I watched every game and really enjoyed it."

Bayern target for the season: "We want to win all the titles, we are capable of doing that, we know we are not good enough and we need to strengthen in terms of intensity. If we can change that, we will be successful."

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Yan Guo Luan

I like movies, music, science fiction and art. I am a certified graphic designer and create my own art. Things that inspire me include equality, respect and anything weird.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.