Psyche logo

Misconceptions about Schizophrenia

What I'd like society to know

By Samantha MarinPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Misconceptions about Schizophrenia
Photo by Total Shape on Unsplash

I have schizophrenia, and I am sick. Sick of stigma. It cripples me more than the disease, and that’s saying a lot. I’m tired of people with schizophrenia being thought of as violent, creepy, stupid, and incapable.

Schizophrenics are not programmed for violence. An Emergency Medical Services textbook states that someone who hears voices telling them to hurt people must be considered dangerous. This is incorrect. That person is willing to discuss their symptoms with healthcare providers and needs help. Someone who is brave enough to risk being laughed at, demeaned, shamed, or even locked up to discuss their symptoms should receive immediate and adequate help.

By Claudio Schwarz on Unsplash

Many behaviors that people call “creepy” are in fact just different, unrecognizable and impossible to understand because people like us have been hidden from society for so long. Even as an adult, I listen to Part of your World from The Little Mermaid on repeat, because all I want is to be part of society. I don’t want to be hidden.

We want to be part of your world.

Take pacing, a common activity among people with schizophrenia who are taking medications that block dopamine in the brain. The lack of dopamine causes what’s known as extrapyramidal symptoms, an excitement of part of the nervous system. As a result, their legs move uncontrollably and they can’t sit still. I personally experienced group after group of travelers staring at me after I got off of an airplane and had to walk in circles repeatedly to alleviate the pain I felt in my legs. I felt great shame as their eyes bored into me and they pressed their lips together into smug smiles. While it may seem strange to watch someone walking back and forth in a small room, it’s actually a symptom of the medication, not the disease.

By Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

A lot of behaviors exhibited are results of the medication. I was once prescribed three times the amount of amphetamines necessary for my body weight after a doctor incorrectly determined I had Attention Deficit Disorder, not schizophrenia. I became very agitated and started throwing inanimate objects at walls. I felt shame as I picked up the pieces of glass. The behavior was terrifyingly scary, yes, but it wasn’t violence directed at humans and it was a direct result of the medication.

Or take head-banging, a behavior exhibited by many with mental illness of all sorts. The physical pain resulting from it releases serotonin in the brain, alleviating stress. The behavior becomes addictive, the way a medicine would. Someone who is in so much pain that they are willing to smash their brain against their skull needs compassion and help, not rebuke and ridicule.

This sign makes fun of patients who bang their head.

Another common misconception is that people with schizophrenia are stupid, A Beautiful Mind’s John Nash being the only possible exception (don’t even get me started on the inaccuracies of that movie). We are normal people of normal intelligence, and we’re capable of working jobs, getting married, raising children, and living normal lives, but only if society accepts us.

No, you cannot just not take medications. Nope.

The hallmark of schizophrenia is not violence, or stupidity, or creepy behavior. It’s confusion. Confusion about what to say, how to act, and who’s around you. You don’t know what’s real as far as others’ behaviors and intentions go. You know that the mailman, for example, just glanced inside your window in passing, but, without medicine, you wonder if his intentions are sinister. It’s scary. With medicine, dopamine stays at a normal level and you go about your day. Without it, you spend the whole day in fear.

By Volodymyr Hryshchenko on Unsplash

That’s why it’s so important to understand that schizophrenics are normal people who just need medicine. The exceptional case of John Nash from A Beautiful Mind should not encourage others to disregard this live-saving treatment. The vast majority of people with schizophrenia cannot convince themselves their delusions are false any more than a drug user can voluntarily end their trip at any time; it’s just brain chemistry. Society needs to understand that people with schizophrenia are normal human beings who just need to take the right medicine to live healthy, productive lives.

schizophreniastigma
2

About the Creator

Samantha Marin

I’m lucky to have an opportunity to share my writing here and enjoy reading others’ work. I’m into outdoor sports, first responders, and mental health.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Valentina Savage2 years ago

    What a great subject. We should talk more about this! I invite you to read my stories. I have one about schisophrenia. thank you so much

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.