Psyche logo

Dear Jas Waters

Journalist Tammy Reese letter to an inspirational woman

By Tammy ReesePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Jas Waters ( Author/TV Personality/Writer/Journalist

Lately I can not get Jas Waters off of my mind. This beautiful accomplished woman who was in the entertainment/media/film industry who is no longer here. It is so important to check on your loved ones especially these days. In the covid-19 era we have no idea what's on our loved ones minds. We all see so much craziness all around us it can be stressful and take a toll on our mental health. As we know it does not matter how rich or famous you are, it doesn't matter how beautiful or successful you are. You can have everything and still feel as if something in your life is missing. A lot of suicidal people never leave a note or any warning. We have to be over cautious of our self and those around us. These are extremely sensitive times. I am writing this letter in honor of Jas Water as a black woman, journalist, writer and suicide prevention advocate.

Dear Jas,

I wish I could have personally told you how inspirational you are to black women directors, writers and journalists like myself. I wish I could had told you personally how beautiful you were and how the world needed the artistry you gave us which will live forever. I wish I could have shown you the suicide prevention video I wrote and directed called Hear My Call. I wish the world still had your presence . No one could have known what you were facing. So many of us face and battle hidden emotions and thoughts we share with little or none. The notoriety or fame you had doesn't mean you were not human. Human indeed you were. I am so sorry for whatever hardships you faced. I congratulate you on all your success which impacted so many lives. I want to honor you by empowering women who aim to break barriers as you have. I want to thank you for speaking out so courageously about the Me Too movement . A powerful movement that had so much awareness yet got brushed aside all in the same . I want to honor you by continuing spreading awareness of social issues through the arts like I have in regards to mental health, suicide prevention , bullying , racism, sexual assault domestic violence, hiv/aids and more. I want women in your honor to know they do not have to use their bodies make it in the industry all they need is their talent and minds. I want women of color to know its ok to not be ok sometimes. We don't have to pretend we handle everything strong all the time like our stereotypes make it out to be. Our people have tons of pride it is perfectly fine to put aside whenever we need and cry or ask for help. There are so many resources to seek mental health counseling and to not feel ashamed of having to need it. I wish I could had hugged you and been mentored by you. I wish I could had personally told you thanks for just being you Jas Fly! You legacy will continue , you will never been forgotten. I am going to continue studying your writing and work to learn and grow. You didn't live in vain. You were on earth for a reason. The mark you made is epic and I promise to continue to speak your name. Jasmine Waters. One of the great Black Queens of writing. So much creativity you had I indeed plan to channel and make it my own. I love you Queen , I honor you , I will miss your life here with us. Love to your loved one. May you continue to shine beautifully up by the stars.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.