Psyche logo

Anger Is My Favorite Emotion

And I regularly express it.

By Susie PinonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

I have always had a difficult time managing my emotions, especially anger. Through years of therapy, it has remained my targeted emotion. And even when I feel that I have it under wraps, it still seems to burst out at unexpected times.

When I’m angry, it feels as though my body and mind take some sort of devilish shape, an unbalanced equilibrium in a state of hyper-awareness.

I’m showered with hot tingles, my adrenaline rushes, and with a throbbing pulse in my head, I feel as though I am limitless. The high of anger is something I am not proud of. I know it is not the ideal vibration. Though, I need to be honest aboht my primitive impulses.

Through various interventions, I have tried tirelessly to seek the underlying cause of my seemingly spontaneous outbursts of anger. I am aware of the sadness within me. I agree that my anger is sadness in disguise, my clenched jaw and tense muscles a true cry for help in a world filled with so much hate and evil.

I am a spiritual individual and have worked consistently throughout the years to maintain a relationship with my higher self, or what I refer to as “The Universe.” I am not religious. I believe there is much evil in the world, all of which stems from feelings of lack and insecurities, amongst other things.

Lack

I know I have feelings of lack within me. Perhaps, and most likely, these brainwashed patterns of negative thinking have been bred from childhood. I am enamored with the goal of unlearning unknown traumas of the past. And as I heal, I use anger as a common tool to guide me.

I ponder that evil must exist to maintain the balance of the cosmos. Evil must be so to assert manifested vibrations into the physical realm on earth. I value anger as potentially the most vital emotion, one used to ignite change and let it soar.

I Choose Anger

I am aware of this and refuse to be complicit and stay silent when exposed to injustices. I believe we are capable of choosing all of our emotions, but most of the time we subconsciously choose them. Just because I choose anger doesn’t mean I am angry at the world.

I am not one to wear a long face and think “woe is me.” I am not one of those people you see and think, "God, she looks completely miserable. I am so happy that I am not here."

I am known to express ample amounts of happiness, gratitude, lust, joy, and especially love. I am extroverted, radiant with love, and passionate. But I will never fear anger and I will never stop being angry. Sometimes, my anger is volatile.

I embrace anger though at times it can be morbidly unpleasant. If I am unable to appreciate the richness of all emotions, good or ugly, how can I truly let myself live? It helps me to feel more human and embrace the boldness and uncertainty of life, in accordance with all of the emotions I could ever possibly experience.

If I have learned anything over the years, and especially as the pandemic continues to roll over us like a cold front, it is this. Nature does not discriminate. Disease grows without reason, perhaps due to some karmic debt we all owe whether we are expressers of anger or not. I believe that anger is necessary to maintain balance in the constant energetic exchange of life.

Anger Must Come Out

It must be transmuted or channeled into something. It has to go somewhere. It cannot stay. Sometimes it cannot be soothed. For some, it may be constant. It may breed disease or despair or hate or death. It may channel violence towards oneself or others. Or it may disrupt a hateful vision, a cult, or a mission against a group. It may provide the ammunition necessary to make a change that would benefit individuals from all walks of life and change history. Being angry could save lives. Anger could save us from wasting a life of unlimited potential.

Anger is seen as an emotion we want to rid ourselves of. But why?

Without it, We Wouldn't Be Human

Anger is a powerful, beautiful thing, and can be used rationally and appropriately to overthrow many injustices in the world. I’ve witnessed public figures and numerous movements on a large spectrum of important humanitarian issues re-directed into positive, lasting change — through the expression of anger.

Anger can be fueled by passion and passion is what breeds growth, success, prosperity, and happiness. When change is so desperately needed in a world like it is now, why not get our point across through anger? It has the potential to build character.

Anger allows us to express ourselves truthfully and humbly, without sugarcoating crises. It devotes a sense of urgency to the message and draws attention to the movement.

What Does Anger Mean?

Being angry doesn’t mean you have to yell or scream or act barbarically and irrational. Showing anger has nothing to do with physical manipulations or causing pain to others. Anger doesn’t need to include fear, dominance, scarcity, and ownership. We have just been raised in a society that associates the feeling with such.

Anger can be used as a tool to lead in unity toward accomplishing a common goal that will benefit society as a whole, if not targeted to help a specific demographic.

Anger can motivate people to heal others around them and to not give up when the odds are not in their favor. Anger can help people mourn when life sends them through shadowed paths and creates holes in their pockets. Anger helps us feel love, pain, and see the truth. It guides our intuition and helps us become stronger adults. It makes us better parents, teachers, students, lovers, and friends.

Anger is not a bad thing and can be used for good. Anger is my favorite emotion and has helped dampen the societal yearning for a utopian society — one that I wouldn’t dream of trading for the life I live.

〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰

If you enjoyed this piece, please consider leaving a tip. Thanks!✌️😊

stigma
1

About the Creator

Susie Pinon

Italian chick with a New Yorker attitude. Free-spirited, eclectic by nature, vegan. I'm fueled by my passion for the art of words. I'm addicted to chocolate + love to heal through the sun's rays. Let's talk words

https://linktr.ee/xosusiep

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.