Pride logo

What Is Love?

PRIDE 2022🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍⚧️

By Leah EllaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
My brand powered by love

I came out this PRIDE, June 2022, it was time for me to accept the fact that I love differently… The norms of society that we’ve been conditioned to accept are monogamy and include two genders. I’m very happy to be pansexual and my love is fluid. I lost a relationship but found myself and that is love. In fact, it’s the only love that I ever want to feel, ever again because love should always be on your terms.

Love is Acceptance

For years, thousands of kids have been afraid to come out to their families for fear of abandonment and rejection. Some have even decided that life wasn’t worth living if they could not stay true to themselves. As a child, I knew that I viewed the world differently. I lived in my head, it was literally sunshine and butterflies. When I moved from the small island of Antigua to the large USA, I was bent on remembering where I came from and staying true to who I was.

No one’s childhood is perfect because even if it seems perfect to society’s standards, the end results beg to differ. We make mistakes, it’s apart of our blueprint. Now, at this age, after celebrating a birthday in June/PRIDE month, I’m happy to be the me’est me, I’ll ever be! I even started a new instagram page around a brand that I’ve always wanted to create. Eight years ago I wanted to design a unisex, loungewear brand. Today it’s called gender fluid and I’m so excited to anticipate how my community wants to be dressed. I’ve worked in retail for over two decades and I’ve always wanted to become a fashion designer. I finally feel free to identify as pansexual and polyamorous and my brand should reflect my lifestyle. It feels great to be unapologetically Me!

My new IG brand page

The point of my brand is to stand for something, unapologetically, and I intend for it to become a movement. When I thought of it eight years ago, it was called No Fronts. Today it’s called Pan and Poly. It’s me and it’s the community that I want to cultivate. I feel like a Mother giving birth to life, created by LOVE. The only way to feel protected in this world, is to create the world you want to live in. This is what I’m hoping to do. I’ve always been an idealist and a person of faith. Trust the process, trust the timing of your life. Create magic, be very specific with the universe what you want manifested and you will do just that. I’ve already widened my usual friendship groups (Hetero-normal) and have cultivated new queer and gender fluid relationships. I’ve also met someone who is as creatively driven and politically motivated to make a dent in this world of gender fluidity.

I hope that you follow my journey and not see me any differently because of this appointment. I’ve been polyamorous for as long as I remember, maybe since 15 years old… Call it the times we live in or what have you but relationships and just about everything in this life, has never felt permanent to me. I completely understand how that thinking can be viewed negatively, but remember that I was raised with very unconventional views… I absolutely cannot wait to unpack these views and be fully seen and vulnerable to my new audience. It just so happened that today, someone who I consider to be a little sister, came out to be enthusiastically today upon learning of my new Instagram page. It seems like I’m already accomplishing my mission to build a community of pansexual and polyamorous people.

HAPPY PRIDE to all my LGBTQIAPD community.

Community
1

About the Creator

Leah Ella

Caribbean-American(she/her)+Actor+Life Coach student.

Welcome! Get to know me here:

Peer Support Facilitator- https://sharewellnow.com/profile/Elle111

Hear my words, Authenticity Podcast- https://anchor.fm/leah-armour2

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.